B Is for Bulldozer

A Construction ABC

Author: June Sobel

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN: 9780152057749

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 32

View: 5401

As children watch over the course of a year, builders construct a rollercoaster using tools and materials that begin with each letter of the alphabet.

Bulldozer

Demolition and Clearance of the Postwar Landscape

Author: Francesca Russello Ammon

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN: 0300200684

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 400

View: 9466

The first history of the bulldozer and its transformation from military weapon to essential tool for creating the post World War II American landscape"

Bulldozer's Big Day

Author: Candace Fleming

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1481400975

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 40

View: 6589

Fearing that his birthday has been forgotten when all of his friends spend the day busily working, an increasingly glum little Bulldozer discovers a construction site surprise at the end of his day. Illustrated by the Caldecott Medal-winning artist of My Friend Rabbit. Simultaneous eBook.

Bulldozer Helps Out

Author: Candace Fleming

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1481458957

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 40

View: 3886

A very little bulldozer learns that taking care of kittens is a very big job in this darling follow-up to Bulldozer’s Big Day from award-winning author Candace Fleming and Caldecott Medalist Eric Rohmann. The construction site bustled. Cement Truck was stirring…stirring…stirring. Digger Truck was scooping…scooping…scooping. Crane Truck was lifting…lifting…lifting. And Bulldozer was—watching…watching…watching. Little Bulldozer wants to help, but all the bigger trucks say he is too small. So when Crane Truck says he can clear a bit of debris out of the way, Little Bulldozer is eager for the job. He can do it, yes he can. What he doesn’t expect is to find a family of newborn kittens living in the pile of debris! Can he take care of babies? Now that’s a tough job. A job that happens to be just the right size for Little Bulldozer.

The Bulldozer in the Countryside

Suburban Sprawl and the Rise of American Environmentalism

Author: Adam Rome

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 9780521804905

Category: History

Page: 299

View: 4834

Scholarly history of efforts to reduce the environmental costs of US suburban development.

My Italian Bulldozer

A Novel

Author: Alexander McCall Smith

Publisher: Anchor

ISBN: 1101871407

Category: Fiction

Page: 240

View: 1664

The best-selling author of the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series returns with an irresistible new novel about one man’s adventures in the Italian countryside. Paul Stuart, a renowned food writer, finds himself at loose ends after his longtime girlfriend leaves him for her personal trainer. To cheer him up, Paul’s editor, Gloria, encourages him to finish his latest cookbook on-site in Tuscany, hoping that a change of scenery (plus the occasional truffled pasta and glass of red wine) will offer a cure for both heartache and writer’s block. But upon Paul’s arrival, things don’t quite go as planned. A mishap with his rental-car reservation leaves him stranded, until a newfound friend leads him to an intriguing alternative: a bulldozer. With little choice in the matter, Paul accepts the offer, and as he journeys (well, slowly trundles) into the idyllic hillside town of Montalcino, he discovers that the bulldozer may be the least of the surprises that await him. What follows is a delightful romp through the lush sights and flavors of the Tuscan countryside, as Paul encounters a rich cast of characters, including a young American woman who awakens in him something unexpected. A feast for the senses and a poignant meditation on the complexity of human relationships, My Italian Bulldozer is a charming and intensely satisfying love story for anyone who has ever dreamed of a fresh start.

I Drive a Bulldozer

Author: Sarah Bridges

Publisher: Capstone

ISBN: 9781404818576

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 24

View: 6047

Explains what happens when driving a bulldozer.

Bulldozers

Author: Jean Eick

Publisher: Childs World Incorporated

ISBN: 9781567665253

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 24

View: 6185

Explains what a bulldozer can do, how its different parts work, and how the operator manipulates it from inside the cab.

Bulldozer

Author: Stephen Warren Meader

Publisher: Southern Skies Publishing

ISBN: 9781931177030

Category:

Page: 239

View: 857

Bulldozer Dreams

Author: Sharon Chriscoe

Publisher: Running Press

ISBN: 0762462027

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 32

View: 5882

A Cozy Construction Story for Bedtime featuring a Bulldozer and for fans of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site and Where Do Diggers Sleep at Night? After a long day of clearing dirt, rocks, and trees, a bulldozer is tired and ready for bed. He lifts up his blade, his spotlights flash on, he rolls through the gate, and lets out a yawn. He heads to the Wiggle and Shake for a bath, then to the Sip and Slurp for some supper, then chooses a bedtime story . . . and soon the bulldozer will be dreaming sweet dreams of finishing his important work! Construction vehicle fans young and old will delight in this imaginative book of how a bulldozer prepares for bed. Sharon Chriscoe's irresistibly clever and gentle rhyming verse and John Joven's charming illustrations are sure to soothe even the busiest of kids at bedtime.

The Bulldozer

A Tool of Wildlife Management

Author: Stanley Eugene Forbes,John Edward Harney

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Game protection

Page: 136

View: 7658

Before the Bulldozer

The Nambiquara Indians and the World Bank

Author: David Price

Publisher: Seven Locks Pr

ISBN: 9780932020925

Category: Indians of South America

Page: 212

View: 4170

Little Bulldozer

Author: Beverley Randell

Publisher: Nelson Thornes

ISBN: 9781869555733

Category: Beginner reader

Page: 16

View: 9373

The Little Bulldozer wants to help everybody but the Big Truck and the Fire Engine don't want his help becuase they think he is too small.

Bulldozer

Demolition and Clearance of the Postwar Landscape

Author: Francesca Russello Ammon

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN: 0300220545

Category: History

Page: 400

View: 1862

Although the decades following World War II stand out as an era of rapid growth and construction in the United States, those years were equally significant for large-scale destruction. In order to clear space for new suburban tract housing, an ambitious system of interstate highways, and extensive urban renewal development, wrecking companies demolished buildings while earthmoving contractors leveled land at an unprecedented pace and scale. In this pioneering history, Francesca Russello Ammon explores how postwar America came to equate this destruction with progress. The bulldozer functioned as both the means and the metaphor for this work. As the machine transformed from a wartime weapon into an instrument of postwar planning, it helped realize a landscape-altering “culture of clearance.” In the hands of the military, planners, politicians, engineers, construction workers, and even children’s book authors, the bulldozer became an American icon. Yet social and environmental injustices emerged as clearance projects continued unabated. This awareness spurred environmental, preservationist, and citizen participation efforts that have helped to slow, though not entirely stop, the momentum of the postwar bulldozer.

Life's Bulldozer Moments

How Adversity Leads to Success in Life and Business

Author: Donato Tramuto

Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

ISBN: 0761868267

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 168

View: 5026

Donato Tramuto felt bulldozed by life as a child when he lost most of his hearing to an ear infection that left him isolated and treated as a failure. A succession of tragedies rocked his world, including a last minute decision to change his plans to fly out of Logan Airport on 9/11 on the same LA-bound flight that claimed the lives of his close friends. In this poignant and penetrating book, Tramuto, a successful health care entrepreneur and global philanthropist, recounts the business and life lessons he learned and shows that adversity can lead to success. He shows anyone bulldozed by life how to pull themselves out of the rubble, dust themselves off and find meaning and purpose.

My Italian Bulldozer

A Novel

Author: Alexander McCall Smith

Publisher: Anchor

ISBN: 1101871407

Category: Fiction

Page: 240

View: 6373

The best-selling author of the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series returns with an irresistible new novel about one man’s adventures in the Italian countryside. Paul Stuart, a renowned food writer, finds himself at loose ends after his longtime girlfriend leaves him for her personal trainer. To cheer him up, Paul’s editor, Gloria, encourages him to finish his latest cookbook on-site in Tuscany, hoping that a change of scenery (plus the occasional truffled pasta and glass of red wine) will offer a cure for both heartache and writer’s block. But upon Paul’s arrival, things don’t quite go as planned. A mishap with his rental-car reservation leaves him stranded, until a newfound friend leads him to an intriguing alternative: a bulldozer. With little choice in the matter, Paul accepts the offer, and as he journeys (well, slowly trundles) into the idyllic hillside town of Montalcino, he discovers that the bulldozer may be the least of the surprises that await him. What follows is a delightful romp through the lush sights and flavors of the Tuscan countryside, as Paul encounters a rich cast of characters, including a young American woman who awakens in him something unexpected. A feast for the senses and a poignant meditation on the complexity of human relationships, My Italian Bulldozer is a charming and intensely satisfying love story for anyone who has ever dreamed of a fresh start.

Bulldozers

Author: Linda D. Williams

Publisher: Capstone

ISBN: 9780736851312

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 24

View: 6844

Text and photographs introduce bulldozers and their parts such as having wide blades to push and to make things smooth.