Conversations and Transformations

Toward a New Ethics of Self and Society

Author: Ananta Kumar Giri

Publisher: Lexington Books

ISBN: 9780739103227

Category: Philosophy

Page: 347

View: 3299

In this work, the author issues a call for scholars of contemporary social history and practice to grapple with late modernity's most pressing social and political issues. He counterposes Western thought with Indian social theory across an array of Indian texts and ideas.

Islamic Democratic Discourse

Theory, Debates, and Philosophical Perspectives

Author: M. A. Muqtedar Khan

Publisher: Lexington Books

ISBN: 9780739106457

Category: Religion

Page: 271

View: 5244

This wide-ranging set of essays explores the multi-faceted relationship between Islam and democracy. Each essayist's unique viewpoint on contemporary Islam provides insight into Islamic political thought and its connection to Western democracy.

Civil Society and Democracy in Iran

Author: Ramin Jahanbegloo

Publisher: Lexington Books

ISBN: 0739172239

Category: Political Science

Page: 318

View: 3609

The book is focused on the work of Iranian civil society and the process of democratization in Iran. All contributors in this volume develop and discuss these issues with an eye on the political evolution of today’s ran. The book will of a great interest to students, specialists and researchers in different fields such as comparative politics, international affairs, Iranian studies and Middle Eastern studies.

Postcolonialism and Political Theory

Author: Nalini Persram

Publisher: Lexington Books

ISBN: 0739159356

Category: Political Science

Page: 346

View: 5875

Postcolonialism and Political Theory explores the intersection between the political and the postcolonial through an engagement with, critique of, and challenge to some of the prevalent, restrictive tenets and frameworks of Western political and social thought.

Comparative Political Philosophy

Studies Under the Upas Tree

Author: Anthony Parel,Ronald C. Keith

Publisher: Lexington Books

ISBN: 9780739106105

Category: Philosophy

Page: 260

View: 8432

Focusing on key texts from Chinese, Indian, Western and Islamic political philosophy, chapter authors both describe the very different contexts from which philosophic traditions arose and discover basic tenets they have in common. In a new introduction, Parel and Keith discuss the changes in political contexts since the book's first publication and they underscore the increasing importance of the comparative approach.

Imagining Brazil

Author: Jessé Souza,Valter Sinder

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: History

Page: 311

View: 5715

Imagining Brazil explores the connections between society, politics, culture, and literature, creating a comprehensive volume that is of interest to scholars of Latin American studies and globalization."--Jacket.

Iran

Between Tradition and Modernity

Author: Ramin Jahanbegloo

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780739105290

Category: History

Page: 216

View: 7283

Presenting a discussion of the political culture of Iran that has been largely overlooked in the West, this volume seeks to analyse a 'fragmented self' refracted through the institutions, market forces & modern thought of Iran.

Sociological Abstracts

Author: Leo P. Chall

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Sociology

Page: N.A

View: 301

CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

Forthcoming Books

Author: R.R. Bowker Company. Department of Bibliography

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 1736

Being and Time

A Translation of Sein und Zeit

Author: Martin Heidegger

Publisher: SUNY Press

ISBN: 9780791426777

Category: Philosophy

Page: 487

View: 4083

A new, definitive translation of Heidegger's most important work.

Comparative Political Theory

An Introduction

Author: Fred Dallmayr

Publisher: Palgrave Macmillan

ISBN: 9780230618633

Category: Political Science

Page: 292

View: 1919

This book is a textbook designed for teaching a new subfield in political science: the emerging field of "comparative political theory". It is the first such textbook. As taught in American universities, political theory has been traditionally confined to the history of Western political thought from Plato and Aristotle to Hegel and Nietzsche. The editor believes strongly that this limitation is no longer tenable in our globalizing age when different cultures and civilizations are increasingly communicating and interacting with each other. The text focuses on three areas: Islamic civilization, Indian civilization, and Far Eastern civilizations. In each area the text offers an introduction followed by readings dealing with ancient or classical teachings as well as modern and contemporary theoretical developments. In making these selections, the editor has been ably assisted by experts in the respective fields (Roxanne Euben, Anthony Parel, and Theodore deBary). The text is meant mainly for undergraduate classes but can be consulted with benefit also by more advanced students as well as by the general reading public.

The Analects (The Revised James Legge Translation)

Author: Confucius

Publisher: e-artnow

ISBN: 8074848604

Category: Religion

Page: 140

View: 3198

This carefully crafted ebook: “Classic The Analects (The Revised James Legge Translation)” is formatted for your eReader with a functional and detailed table of contents. This book is the revised James Legge translation which has been extensively reworked and restored compared to the freely available Legge translations. The Analects, also known as the Analects of Confucius, is the collection of sayings and ideas attributed to the Chinese philosopher Confucius and his contemporaries, traditionally believed to have been written by Confucius' followers. It is believed to have been written during the Warring States period (475 BC–221 BC), and it achieved its final form during the mid-Han dynasty (206 BC–220 AD). By the early Han dynasty the Analects was considered merely a "commentary" on the Five Classics, but the status of the Analects grew to be one of the central texts of Confucianism by the end of that dynasty. During the late Song dynasty (960-1279) the importance of the Analects as a philosophy work was raised above that of the older Five Classics, and it was recognized as one of the "Four Books". The Analects has been one of the most widely read and studied books in China for the last 2,000 years, and continues to have a substantial influence on Chinese and East Asian thought and values today. Confucius (551–479 BC) was a Chinese teacher, editor, politician, and philosopher of the Spring and Autumn period of Chinese history.

Religion Index One

Periodicals

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Religion

Page: N.A

View: 7179

Futures

Author: Institute for the Future

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Forecasting Periodicals

Page: N.A

View: 4404

Knowledge and Human Liberation

Towards Planetary Realizations

Author: Ananta Kumar Giri

Publisher: Anthem Press

ISBN: 0857284525

Category: Philosophy

Page: 309

View: 2817

Human liberation has become an epochal challenge in today's world, requiring not only emancipation from oppressive structures but also from the oppressive self. This book seeks to rethink knowledge vis-à-vis familiar themes such as human interest, critical theory and cosmopolitanism.

Born Digital

Understanding the First Generation of Digital Natives

Author: Urs Gasser

Publisher: ReadHowYouWant.com

ISBN: 1458725448

Category: Digital media

Page: 576

View: 1703

The first generation of Digital Natives children who were born into and raised in the digital world are coming of age, and soon our world will be reshaped in their image. Our economy, our politics, our culture, and even the shape of our family life will be forever transformed. But who are these Digital Natives? And what is the world theyre creating going to look like? In Born Digital, leading Internet and technology experts John Palfrey and Urs Gasser offer a sociological portrait of these young people, who can seem, even to those merely a generation older, both extraordinarily sophisticated and strangely narrow. Exploring a broad range of issues, from the highly philosophical to the purely practical, Born Digital will be essential reading for parents, teachers, and the myriad of confused adults who want to understand the digital present and shape the digital future.

Voices of the transition

the politics, poetics and practices of social change in South Africa

Author: Edgar Pieterse,Frank Meintjies,Isandla Institute

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Social Science

Page: 366

View: 1929

Sapiens

A Brief History of Humankind

Author: Yuval Noah Harari

Publisher: Signal

ISBN: 9780771038518

Category:

Page: 464

View: 7542

Destined to become a modern classic in the vein of Guns, Germs, and Steel, Sapiens is a lively, groundbreaking history of humankind told from a unique perspective. 100,000 years ago, at least six species of human inhabited the earth. Today there is just one. Us. Homo Sapiens. How did our species succeed in the battle for dominance? Why did our foraging ancestors come together to create cities and kingdoms? How did we come to believe in gods, nations, and human rights; to trust money, books, and laws; and to be enslaved by bureaucracy, timetables, and consumerism? And what will our world be like in the millennia to come? In Sapiens, Dr. Yuval Noah Harari spans the whole of human history, from the very first humans to walk the earth to the radical -- and sometimes devastating -- breakthroughs of the Cognitive, Agricultural, and Scientific Revolutions. Drawing on insights from biology, anthropology, palaeontology, and economics, he explores how the currents of history have shaped our human societies, the animals and plants around us, and even our personalities. Have we become happier as history has unfolded? Can we ever free our behaviour from the heritage of our ancestors? And what, if anything, can we do to influence the course of the centuries to come? Bold, wide-ranging and provocative, Sapiens challenges everything we thought we knew about being human: our thoughts, our actions, our power...and our future.

The Interpretation of Cultures

Author: Clifford Geertz

Publisher: Basic Books

ISBN: 0465093566

Category: Social Science

Page: 576

View: 589

In The Interpretation of Cultures, the most original anthropologist of his generation moved far beyond the traditional confines of his discipline to develop an important new concept of culture. This groundbreaking book, winner of the 1974 Sorokin Award of the American Sociological Association, helped define for an entire generation of anthropologists what their field is ultimately about.