History of Iron County

Missouri (Classic Reprint)

Author: J. W. Emerson

Publisher: Forgotten Books

ISBN: 9780266535829

Category: Reference

Page: 22

View: 4455

Excerpt from History of Iron County: Missouri The first term of the circuit court was held in Iron county in May, 1858, Judge John H. Stone, presiding. About the Publisher Forgotten Books publishes hundreds of thousands of rare and classic books. Find more at www.forgottenbooks.com This book is a reproduction of an important historical work. Forgotten Books uses state-of-the-art technology to digitally reconstruct the work, preserving the original format whilst repairing imperfections present in the aged copy. In rare cases, an imperfection in the original, such as a blemish or missing page, may be replicated in our edition. We do, however, repair the vast majority of imperfections successfully; any imperfections that remain are intentionally left to preserve the state of such historical works.

Minnesota's Iron Country

Rich Ore, Rich Lives

Author: Marvin G. Lamppa

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780942235562

Category: History

Page: 276

View: 4211

Chronicles the development of the Iron Range, including the lives of the working class people as well as the industrial and political forces that built and exploited this region in a series of booms and busts.

A History of Cache County

Author: Frank Ross Peterson

Publisher: Utah State Historical Society

ISBN: N.A

Category: History

Page: 388

View: 5191

Wooden Boats and Iron Men

History of Commercial Fishing in Northern Lake Michigan & Door County, 1850-2005

Author: Trygvie Jensen

Publisher: Trygvie Jensen

ISBN: 0976478277

Category: Door County (Wis.)

Page: 423

View: 6632

Iron

A River, a Town, a County, a Mine, a Family

Author: Ramon E. Bisque

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780970251305

Category: Iron River (Mich.)

Page: 304

View: 2958

An historical account of the events surrounding a Polish family's court battle with a Catholic priest in the early 1900's.

Men, Mines and Memories

Iron Mining in Iron County, Michigan

Author: Marcia A. Bernhardt,Harold Bernhardt,Debra E. Bernhardt

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780967723013

Category: Iron County (Mich.)

Page: 108

View: 6011

History of the Manufacture of Iron in All Ages

And Particularly in the United States from Colonial Time to 1891

Author: James Moore Swank

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 1108026842

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 580

View: 3737

James Moore Swank (1832-1914) was a US expert on iron and steel, and wrote widely about the industry. In 1873 he became secretary of the American Iron and Steel Association. This second edition (1892) of his influential book on iron manufacture was significantly expanded compared to the 1884 original, with 132 more pages, 15 extra chapters, and revisions throughout the text. Swank aimed to move away from the highly technical approach and European focus that had dominated previous works. Instead, he would emphasise names, dates, facts and results, and give special attention to the growth of the industry in the United States while providing an international context. He includes every country and US state that produced iron. The book is organised chronologically, and provides a fascinating account of the manufacture of iron from the ancient Egyptian period through early modern Britain to late nineteenth-century America.

History of the Manufacture of Iron in All Ages

And Particularly in the United States from Colonial Time to 1891. Also a Short History of Early Coal Mining in the United States ...

Author: James Moore Swank

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Coal mines and mining

Page: 554

View: 8619

Iron River

Author: T. Jefferson Parker

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9781101159743

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 924

For fans of Michael Connelly and CJ Box, the third thrilling novel in the Charlie Hood series from New York Times bestseller and Edgar-award winner T. Jefferson Parker, now including an excerpt from his upcoming novel The Room of White Fire. Along the U.S./Mexico border, a man named Finnegan wakes up in the border-town of Buenavista after a hit and run-eerily aware of events he should know nothing about, $90,000 richer, and with Charlie Hood's name and address in his wallet. Meanwhile when tracking the flow of illegal guns into Mexico, Hood's team accidentally kills the son of Benjamin Armenta, head of the Gulf Cartel and one of the most violent men in the world. Now, Hood must work to grasp the enigmatic forces fighting for control of Buenavista- forces that circle back to Finnegan, and to Armenta's unstoppable plan for brutal vengeance.

Portraits in Steel

An Illustrated History of Jones & Laughlin Steel Corporation

Author: David H. Wollman,Donald R. Inman

Publisher: Kent State University Press

ISBN: 9780873386241

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 331

View: 7624

This history of James & Laughlin Steel Corporation paints a gritty portrait of the successes and failures of the American steel industry. The 131-year life of this American business is presented from its origins as one of the many struggling iron-makers in the mid-19th century.

Steel Drivin' Man

John Henry, the Untold Story of an American Legend

Author: Scott Reynolds Nelson

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 0195341198

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 214

View: 7793

The story of John Henry, the mighty railroad man who has become a towering figure in American culture, is told in this portrait of the most recorded folk song in American history.