How the Other Half Lives

Studies Among the Tenements of New York

Author: Jacob Riis

Publisher: Applewood Books

ISBN: 145850042X

Category: Social Science

Page: 322

View: 3098

How the Other Half Lives - Studies Among the Tenements of New York

Author: Jacob A. Riis

Publisher: Read Books Ltd

ISBN: 1528785940

Category: Social Science

Page: 238

View: 9316

Classic Books Library presents this brand new edition of "How the Other Half Lives" (1890) by Jacob Riis. This powerful collection of photographs depicts the slums of New York during the 1800s. As an émigré, Riis witnessed the poverty and crowded conditions of the city, and turned to photojournalism to document street life. Mastering the innovative use of flash, and being one of the first to use the technology in photographic practice in America, Riis produced starkly honest and evocative images of the tenements. Riis (1849-1914) was a journalist and social documentary photographer born in Denmark. He emigrated to New York as a young man and became part of a large wave of immigrants that settled there in the late 1800s. After initially training as a carpenter, his journalistic career began when he was appointed as a trainee at the New York News Association. Later, Riis developed an interest in photography as a way to further illustrate the conditions of city slums that featured in his reports, and his first collaborative photojournalism work was published in 1888.

How the Other Half Lives

A Jacob Riis Classic (Including Photography)

Author: Jacob Riis

Publisher: Readaclassic.com

ISBN: 9781611040760

Category: Reference

Page: 208

View: 8738

"How the Other Half Lives" by Jacob Riis sheds fascinating light on how our immigrants in the 1800's lived in New York City. A must-read for Americans whose family has been in the U.S. for only a few generations, this book tells what it was really like in the slums. Whether Irish, Italian, Jewish, Chinese or Polish, German, Russian, hordes of refugees ended up in New York on the promise of a better life. Entrepreneurs lured poor people from Eastern Europe and contracted out their labor in sweat shops in the US. The laborers lived in tenements, which were dark, unventilated cages in blocks of buildings that rented for a surprising high rent to people who died by the thousands in the unsanitary conditions. The conditions described by Jacob Riis in this classic are heart-rending, especially the part about foundling babies (abandoned newborns). A cradle was put outside a Catholic Church and instead of a baby each night, racks of babies appeared. The Church had to establish foundling hospitals run by nuns, who persuaded the unwed or impoverished mothers to nurse the baby they gave up, plus another baby. The child mortality rate, especially in the "back tenements" or buildings built on to the back of others (dark and airless) was incredible. Riis also provides interesting information about the gangs of New York in "How the Other Half Lived."

How the Other Half Lives

Author: Jacob A. Riis,David Leviatin

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN: 9780312117009

Category: History

Page: 274

View: 569

Jacob Riis's famed 1890 photo-text addressed the problems of immigration, technological innovation, industry, and urban life at the dawn of the twentieth century. American studies instructor and freelance photographer David Leviatin edited this edition to be as faithful to the original text as possible; all interior photos are uncropped reprints made from Riis's original negatives, lantern slides, and prints.

How the Other Half Lives

Authoritative Text, Contexts, Criticism

Author: Jacob August Riis

Publisher: W. W. Norton

ISBN: 9780393930269

Category: Fiction

Page: 554

View: 1948

The landmark 1890 expose of the squalid living conditions of New York's urban poor is presented in an edition that includes background and commentary by Riis's contemporaries as well as later critical appraisals.

Totes Herz

Psychothriller

Author: Sophie Hannah

Publisher: BASTEI LÜBBE

ISBN: 3838756584

Category: Fiction

Page: 606

View: 3077

Ruth hat Schreckliches durchgemacht. Lange war ihr Herz tot - bis sie sich in den stillen Aidan verliebt. Aber auch er leidet an seiner Vergangenheit. Eines Tages vertraut er Ruth sein Geheimnis an: Er hat getötet. Eine Frau namens Mary Trelease. Ruth kann es nicht fassen. Denn sie kennt eine Mary Trelease, und die ist nicht nur lebendig, sondern auch äußerst gefährlich ...

How the Other Half Lives - Scholar's Choice Edition

Author: Jacob a Riis

Publisher: Scholar's Choice

ISBN: 9781293946916

Category:

Page: 326

View: 6614

This work has been selected by scholars as being culturally important, and is part of the knowledge base of civilization as we know it. This work was reproduced from the original artifact, and remains as true to the original work as possible. Therefore, you will see the original copyright references, library stamps (as most of these works have been housed in our most important libraries around the world), and other notations in the work. This work is in the public domain in the United States of America, and possibly other nations. Within the United States, you may freely copy and distribute this work, as no entity (individual or corporate) has a copyright on the body of the work.As a reproduction of a historical artifact, this work may contain missing or blurred pages, poor pictures, errant marks, etc. Scholars believe, and we concur, that this work is important enough to be preserved, reproduced, and made generally available to the public. We appreciate your support of the preservation process, and thank you for being an important part of keeping this knowledge alive and relevant.

The Other Half Lives

Culver Valley Crime

Author: Sophie Hannah

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 184894246X

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 5431

The fourth psychological suspense novel from the phenomenal word-of-mouth bestselling Sophie Hannah. A must-read for readers of Gillian Flynn and Liane Moriarty. 'Utterly gripping' The Times 'Thrilling' Sunday Telegraph Why would anyone confess to a murder that never happened? Ruth Bussey knows what it means to be in the wrong and to be wronged. She once did something she regrets, and her punishment nearly destroyed her. Now Ruth is rebuilding her life, and has found a love she doesn't believe she deserves: Aidan Seed. Aidan is also troubled by a past he hates to talk about, until one day he decides he must confide in Ruth. He tells her that years ago he killed someone: a woman called Mary Trelease. Ruth is confused. She's certain she's heard the name before, and when she realises why it sounds familiar, her fear and confusion deepen - because the Mary Trelease that Ruth knows is very much alive . . .

Eine Geschichte des Fotojournalismus

Was zählt, sind die Bilder

Author: Wolfgang Pensold

Publisher: Springer-Verlag

ISBN: 3658082976

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 202

View: 5243

Anhand der Arbeit namhafter Vertreterinnen und Vertreter des Fotojournalismus erläutert der Band die Entstehung und die Entwicklung des Genres seit Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts, unter Einbeziehung technischer, kultureller, wirtschaftlicher, vor allem aber auch politischer Rahmenbedingungen. Gleichzeitig wird für die Zukunft die Frage abgeleitet, wohin sich der Fotojournalismus angesichts einer volldigitalisierten Medienlandschaft und einer mit Handy-Kameras durchsetzten Gesellschaft entwickelt.

How the Other Half Lived

Ludlow's Working Classes 1850-1960

Author: Derek Beattie

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781910723340

Category: History

Page: 128

View: 5685

Ludlow, Shropshire, is perhaps best known today for its Michelin-starred restaurants, its famous Food Festival and its attractive Georgian and medieval market town centre. But it has a less glorious claim to fame: the working classes of Ludlow lagged far behind the rest of the country when it came to their living conditions and, from Victorian times to the middle of the 20th century, they lacked most of the basic comforts. Typhoid was rife, countless houses had no access to running water, and outside toilets were shared by up to five families. When it is remembered that Ludlow s poor households often numbered eight or more residents, the degree of deprivation becomes clearer. Yet Ludlow s working classes battled on, largely uncomplainingly, until the local council finally agreed reluctantly to building the minimum number of council houses they could get away with, in the 1960s. This is a clear-sighted, well presented and fascinating account of the everyday lives of those living on the other side of Ludlow."

Where the Other Half Lives

Lower Income Housing in a Neoliberal World

Author: Sarah Glynn

Publisher: Pluto Pr

ISBN: N.A

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 224

View: 3767

Housing has become a hot topic. The media is filled with stories of individual housing hardship and of major property-related financial crises: of criling personal debts, rundown social housing, homelessness, mass demolitions, spiralling prices, unaffordability and the ‘credit crunch’. This book links all these together through a radical analysis that puts housing at the heart of critical economic and political debate. The author shows that these problems arise from the fact that houses are no longer seen primarily as homes for living in, but rather as a source of profit. Case studies from the UK, the US and other western countries are set into a theoretical and historical overview of how housing has changed over several decades. The book also examines campaigns for better housing and explores possibilities for a different aroach to this most fundamental of human needs.

The Other Half

The Life of Jacob Riis and the World of Immigrant America

Author: Tom Buk-Swienty

Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

ISBN: 9780393060232

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 331

View: 9025

A revisionist portrait of the late-nineteenth-century social reformer draws on previously unexamined diaries and letters to trace his immigration to America, work as a police reporter for the New York Tribune, and pivotal contributions as a muckraker and progressive.