From Alchemy to Chemistry

Author: John Read

Publisher: Courier Corporation

ISBN: 0486170845

Category: Science

Page: 256

View: 2855

Broad, humanistic treatment focuses on great figures of chemistry and ideas that revolutionized the science. Much on alchemy, also development of modern chemistry, atomic theory, elements, organic chemistry, more. 50 illustrations.

From Alchemy to Chemistry in Picture and Story

Author: Arthur Greenberg

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN: 0470085231

Category: Science

Page: 664

View: 5084

Praise for From Alchemy to Chemistry in Picture and Story "The timeline from alchemy to chemistry contains some of the most mystifying ideas and images that humans have ever devised. Arthur Greenberg shows us this wonderful world in a unique and highly readable book." —Dr. John Emsley, author of The Elements of Murder: A History of Poison "Art Greenberg takes us, through text and lovingly selected images, on a 'magical mystery tour' of the chemical universe. No matter what page you open, there is a chemical story worth telling." —Dr. Roald Hoffmann, Nobel Laureate and coauthor of Chemistry Imagined "Chemistry has perhaps the most intricate, most fascinating, and certainly most romantic history of all the sciences. Arthur Greenberg's essays-delightful, learned, quirky, highly personal, and richly illustrated with contemporary drawings (many of great rarity and beauty)-provide a kaleidoscope of intellectual landscapes, bringing the experiments, the ideas, and the human figures of chemistry's past intensely alive." —Dr. Oliver Sacks, author of Awakenings From Alchemy to Chemistry in Picture and Story takes you on an illustrated tour of chemistry's fascinating history, from its early focus on the spiritual relationship between man and nature to some of today's most cutting-edge applications. Drawing from rare publications and artwork that span over five centuries, the book contains nearly 200 essays and over 350 illustrations-including 24 in full color-that tell the engaging story of the development of this fundamental science and its connection with human history. Join Arthur Greenberg as he combines the "best of the best" from his previous works (as well as several new essays) to paint a colorful picture of chemistry's remarkable origins!

The World's Greatest Fix

A History of Nitrogen and Agriculture

Author: G. J. Leigh

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 0190290153

Category: Science

Page: 256

View: 564

In the tradition of Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs, and Steel, this gives the very early history of how human ingenuity overcame the risk of famine through productive agriculture. Starting with a layman's guide to the chemistry of nitrogen fixation, the book goes on to show how humans emerged from nomadic lifestyles and began developing towns and settlements. When they for the first time began planting the same fields year after year, they noticed quickly the need to ensure soil fertility. But how? The method they came up with is still in use to this day.

The 1702 Chair of Chemistry at Cambridge

Transformation and Change

Author: Mary D. Archer,Christopher D. Haley

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 9780521828734

Category: History

Page: 318

View: 5558

A history of the 1702 chair in chemistry at the University of Cambridge.

Boerhaave and Great Britain

Three Lectures on Boerhaave with Particular Reference to His Relations with Great Britain

Author: Gerrit Arie Lindeboom

Publisher: Brill Archive

ISBN: 9789004038431

Category: Science

Page: 75

View: 9669

Eurekas and Euphorias

The Oxford Book of Scientific Anecdotes

Author: Walter Gratzer,Walter Bruno Gratzer

Publisher: Oxford University Press on Demand

ISBN: 9780198609407

Category: Science

Page: 357

View: 2356

A collection of scientific anecdotes from the past two thousand years offers insight into the personalities, friendships, rivalries, deceptions, hoaxes, tragedies, and mistakes that marked the history of science. (Science & Mathematics)

Journal of the Chemical Society

Author: Chemical Society (Great Britain)

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Chemistry

Page: N.A

View: 3573

"Titles of chemical papers in British and foreign journals" included in Quarterly journal, v. 1-12.

Journal of the Chemical Society

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Chemistry

Page: N.A

View: 1184

"Titles of chemical papers in British and foreign journals" included in Quarterly journal, v. 1-12.

Proceedings

Author: Royal Institution of Great Britain

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Science

Page: N.A

View: 4599

The Chemical Age

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Chemical industry

Page: N.A

View: 6783

The Martian

A Novel

Author: Andy Weir

Publisher: Broadway Books

ISBN: 0804139032

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 1337

Nominated as one of America’s best-loved novels by PBS’s The Great American Read Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars. Now, he's sure he'll be the first person to die there. After a dust storm nearly kills him and forces his crew to evacuate while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded and completely alone with no way to even signal Earth that he’s alive—and even if he could get word out, his supplies would be gone long before a rescue could arrive. Chances are, though, he won't have time to starve to death. The damaged machinery, unforgiving environment, or plain-old "human error" are much more likely to kill him first. But Mark isn't ready to give up yet. Drawing on his ingenuity, his engineering skills—and a relentless, dogged refusal to quit—he steadfastly confronts one seemingly insurmountable obstacle after the next. Will his resourcefulness be enough to overcome the impossible odds against him?

The Happiness Industry

How the Government and Big Business Sold us Well-Being

Author: William Davies

Publisher: Verso Books

ISBN: 1781688478

Category: Social Science

Page: 320

View: 1673

In winter 2014, a Tibetan monk lectured the world leaders gathered at Davos on the importance of Happiness. The recent DSM-5, the manual of all diagnosable mental illnesses, for the first time included shyness and grief as treatable diseases. Happiness has become the biggest idea of our age, a new religion dedicated to well-being. In this brilliant dissection of our times, political economist William Davies shows how this philosophy, first pronounced by Jeremy Bentham in the 1780s, has dominated the political debates that have delivered neoliberalism. From a history of business strategies of how to get the best out of employees, to the increased level of surveillance measuring every aspect of our lives; from why experts prefer to measure the chemical in the brain than ask you how you are feeling, to why Freakonomics tells us less about the way people behave than expected, The Happiness Industry is an essential guide to the marketization of modern life. Davies shows that the science of happiness is less a science than an extension of hyper-capitalism.

Physical Chemistry

A Very Short Introduction

Author: Peter Atkins

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 0199689091

Category: Science

Page: 128

View: 6911

In this essential guide for students of chemistry, Peter Atkins' Very Short Introduction explains the principles and phenomena of physical chemistry. Using few formulas, Atkins shows how physical chemistry draws its ideas from physics, quantum mechanics, and mathematics, and how it has contributed to our understanding of the natural world.

Humour: A Very Short Introduction

Author: Noël Carroll

Publisher: OUP Oxford

ISBN: 0191642592

Category: Philosophy

Page: 144

View: 6722

Humour has been discovered in every known human culture and thinkers have discussed it for over two thousand years. Humour can serve many functions; it can be used to relieve stress, to promote goodwill among strangers, to dissipate tension within a fractious group, to display intelligence, and some have even claimed that it improves health and fights sickness. In this Very Short Introduction Noel Carroll examines the leading theories of humour including The Superiority Theory and The Incongruity Theory. He considers the relation of humour to emotion and cognition, and explores the value of humour, specifically in its social functions. He argues that humour, and the comic amusement that follows it, has a crucial role to play in the construction of communities, but he also demonstrates that the social aspect of humour raises questions such as 'When is humour immoral?' and 'Is laughing at immoral humour itself immoral?'. ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.