From Alchemy to Chemistry

Author: John Read

Publisher: Courier Corporation

ISBN: 0486170845

Category: Science

Page: 256

View: 9222

Broad, humanistic treatment focuses on great figures of chemistry and ideas that revolutionized the science. Much on alchemy, also development of modern chemistry, atomic theory, elements, organic chemistry, more. 50 illustrations.

From Alchemy to Chemistry in Picture and Story

Author: Arthur Greenberg

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN: 0470085231

Category: Science

Page: 664

View: 8669

Praise for From Alchemy to Chemistry in Picture and Story "The timeline from alchemy to chemistry contains some of the most mystifying ideas and images that humans have ever devised. Arthur Greenberg shows us this wonderful world in a unique and highly readable book." —Dr. John Emsley, author of The Elements of Murder: A History of Poison "Art Greenberg takes us, through text and lovingly selected images, on a 'magical mystery tour' of the chemical universe. No matter what page you open, there is a chemical story worth telling." —Dr. Roald Hoffmann, Nobel Laureate and coauthor of Chemistry Imagined "Chemistry has perhaps the most intricate, most fascinating, and certainly most romantic history of all the sciences. Arthur Greenberg's essays-delightful, learned, quirky, highly personal, and richly illustrated with contemporary drawings (many of great rarity and beauty)-provide a kaleidoscope of intellectual landscapes, bringing the experiments, the ideas, and the human figures of chemistry's past intensely alive." —Dr. Oliver Sacks, author of Awakenings From Alchemy to Chemistry in Picture and Story takes you on an illustrated tour of chemistry's fascinating history, from its early focus on the spiritual relationship between man and nature to some of today's most cutting-edge applications. Drawing from rare publications and artwork that span over five centuries, the book contains nearly 200 essays and over 350 illustrations-including 24 in full color-that tell the engaging story of the development of this fundamental science and its connection with human history. Join Arthur Greenberg as he combines the "best of the best" from his previous works (as well as several new essays) to paint a colorful picture of chemistry's remarkable origins!

The World's Greatest Fix

A History of Nitrogen and Agriculture

Author: G. J. Leigh

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 0190290153

Category: Science

Page: 256

View: 2887

In the tradition of Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs, and Steel, this gives the very early history of how human ingenuity overcame the risk of famine through productive agriculture. Starting with a layman's guide to the chemistry of nitrogen fixation, the book goes on to show how humans emerged from nomadic lifestyles and began developing towns and settlements. When they for the first time began planting the same fields year after year, they noticed quickly the need to ensure soil fertility. But how? The method they came up with is still in use to this day.

Aesthetic Experience in Science Education

Learning and Meaning-Making as Situated Talk and Action

Author: Per-Olof Wickman

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1135602018

Category: Education

Page: 186

View: 7166

This book examines the role of aesthetic experience in learning science and in science education from the perspective of knowledge as action and language use. The theoretical underpinnings are based on the writings of John Dewey and Ludwig Wittgenstein. In their spirit aesthetics is examined as it appears in the lives of people and how it relates to the activities in which they are involved. Centered around an empirical analysis of how students and their teachers use aesthetic language and acts during laboratory and field work, the book demonstrates that aesthetics is something that is constantly talked about in science class and that these aesthetic experiences are intimately involved in learning science. These empirical findings are related to current debates about the relation between aesthetics and science, and about motivation, participation, learning and socio-cultural issues in science education. This book features: *an empirical demonstration of the importance and specific roles of aesthetic experiences in learning science; *a novel contribution to the current debate on how to understand motivation, participation and learning; and *a new methodology of studying learning in action. Part I sketches out the theoretical concepts of Wickman's practical epistemology analysis of the fundamental role of aesthetics in science and science education. Part II develops these concepts through an analysis of the use of aesthetic judgments when students and teachers are talking in university science classes. Part III sums up the general implications of the theoretical underpinnings and empirical findings for teaching and learning science. Here Wickman expands the findings of his study beyond the university setting to K-8 school science, and explicates what it would mean to make science education more aesthetically meaningful. Wickman's conclusions deal to a large extent with aesthetic experience as individual transformation and with people's prospects for participation in an activity such as science education. These conclusions have significance beyond science teaching and learning that should be of concern to educators generally. This book is intended for educational researchers, graduate students, and teacher educators in science education internationally, as well as those interested in aesthetics, philosophy of education, discourse analysis, socio-cultural issues, motivation, learning and meaning-making more generally.

Boerhaave and Great Britain

Three Lectures on Boerhaave with Particular Reference to His Relations with Great Britain

Author: Gerrit Arie Lindeboom

Publisher: Brill Archive

ISBN: 9789004038431

Category: Science

Page: 75

View: 3118

Eurekas and Euphorias

The Oxford Book of Scientific Anecdotes

Author: Walter Gratzer,Walter Bruno Gratzer

Publisher: Oxford University Press on Demand

ISBN: 9780198609407

Category: Science

Page: 357

View: 6558

A collection of scientific anecdotes from the past two thousand years offers insight into the personalities, friendships, rivalries, deceptions, hoaxes, tragedies, and mistakes that marked the history of science. (Science & Mathematics)

Die Schöpfung im Reagenzglas

eine Geschichte der Basler Chemie (1850-1920)

Author: Tobias Straumann

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783719014728

Category: Chemistry

Page: 359

View: 4869

Proceedings

Author: Royal Institution of Great Britain

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Science

Page: N.A

View: 8764

The Chemical Age

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Chemical industry

Page: N.A

View: 5372

The Roy G. Neville Historical Chemical Library

An Annotated Catalogue of Printed Books on Alchemy, Chemistry, Chemical Technology, and Related Subjects

Author: Roy G. Neville

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Chemistry

Page: N.A

View: 9965

Catalog of Copyright Entries. Third Series

1965: January-June

Author: Library of Congress. Copyright Office

Publisher: Copyright Office, Library of Congress

ISBN: N.A

Category: Copyright

Page: 1394

View: 6998

Includes Part 1, Number 1: Books and Pamphlets, Including Serials and Contributions to Periodicals (January - June)

Geschichte der organischen Chemie seit 1880

Band 2: Seit 1880

Author: Paul Walden

Publisher: Springer-Verlag

ISBN: 3642651062

Category: Science

Page: 946

View: 9171

Dieser Buchtitel ist Teil des Digitalisierungsprojekts Springer Book Archives mit Publikationen, die seit den Anfängen des Verlags von 1842 erschienen sind. Der Verlag stellt mit diesem Archiv Quellen für die historische wie auch die disziplingeschichtliche Forschung zur Verfügung, die jeweils im historischen Kontext betrachtet werden müssen. Dieser Titel erschien in der Zeit vor 1945 und wird daher in seiner zeittypischen politisch-ideologischen Ausrichtung vom Verlag nicht beworben.

Boss Ladies, Watch Out!

Essays on Women, Sex, and Writing

Author: Terry Castle

Publisher: Psychology Press

ISBN: 9780415938747

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 309

View: 6532

In the second part of the book, Castle embraces, with gusto, the role of Female Critic herself." "In lively reconsiderations of Sappho, Bronte, Cather, Colette, Gertrude Stein, and many other great women writers - "Boss Ladies" all - Castle pays a moving and civilized tribute to female genius and intellectual daring."--BOOK JACKET.