From Alchemy to Chemistry

Author: John Read

Publisher: Courier Corporation

ISBN: 0486170845

Category: Science

Page: 256

View: 4707

Broad, humanistic treatment focuses on great figures of chemistry and ideas that revolutionized the science. Much on alchemy, also development of modern chemistry, atomic theory, elements, organic chemistry, more. 50 illustrations.

The World's Greatest Fix

A History of Nitrogen and Agriculture

Author: G. J. Leigh

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 0190290153

Category: Science

Page: 256

View: 8585

In the tradition of Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs, and Steel, this gives the very early history of how human ingenuity overcame the risk of famine through productive agriculture. Starting with a layman's guide to the chemistry of nitrogen fixation, the book goes on to show how humans emerged from nomadic lifestyles and began developing towns and settlements. When they for the first time began planting the same fields year after year, they noticed quickly the need to ensure soil fertility. But how? The method they came up with is still in use to this day.

From Alchemy to Chemistry in Picture and Story

Author: Arthur Greenberg

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN: 0470085231

Category: Science

Page: 664

View: 3668

Praise for From Alchemy to Chemistry in Picture and Story "The timeline from alchemy to chemistry contains some of the most mystifying ideas and images that humans have ever devised. Arthur Greenberg shows us this wonderful world in a unique and highly readable book." —Dr. John Emsley, author of The Elements of Murder: A History of Poison "Art Greenberg takes us, through text and lovingly selected images, on a 'magical mystery tour' of the chemical universe. No matter what page you open, there is a chemical story worth telling." —Dr. Roald Hoffmann, Nobel Laureate and coauthor of Chemistry Imagined "Chemistry has perhaps the most intricate, most fascinating, and certainly most romantic history of all the sciences. Arthur Greenberg's essays-delightful, learned, quirky, highly personal, and richly illustrated with contemporary drawings (many of great rarity and beauty)-provide a kaleidoscope of intellectual landscapes, bringing the experiments, the ideas, and the human figures of chemistry's past intensely alive." —Dr. Oliver Sacks, author of Awakenings From Alchemy to Chemistry in Picture and Story takes you on an illustrated tour of chemistry's fascinating history, from its early focus on the spiritual relationship between man and nature to some of today's most cutting-edge applications. Drawing from rare publications and artwork that span over five centuries, the book contains nearly 200 essays and over 350 illustrations-including 24 in full color-that tell the engaging story of the development of this fundamental science and its connection with human history. Join Arthur Greenberg as he combines the "best of the best" from his previous works (as well as several new essays) to paint a colorful picture of chemistry's remarkable origins!

The 1702 Chair of Chemistry at Cambridge

Transformation and Change

Author: Mary D. Archer,Christopher D. Haley

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 9780521828734

Category: History

Page: 318

View: 1762

A history of the 1702 chair in chemistry at the University of Cambridge.

Boerhaave and Great Britain

Three Lectures on Boerhaave with Particular Reference to His Relations with Great Britain

Author: Gerrit Arie Lindeboom

Publisher: Brill Archive

ISBN: 9789004038431

Category: Science

Page: 75

View: 8402

Die Schöpfung im Reagenzglas

eine Geschichte der Basler Chemie (1850-1920)

Author: Tobias Straumann

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783719014728

Category: Chemistry

Page: 359

View: 2430

Eurekas and Euphorias

The Oxford Book of Scientific Anecdotes

Author: Walter Gratzer,Walter Bruno Gratzer

Publisher: Oxford University Press on Demand

ISBN: 9780198609407

Category: Science

Page: 357

View: 3837

A collection of scientific anecdotes from the past two thousand years offers insight into the personalities, friendships, rivalries, deceptions, hoaxes, tragedies, and mistakes that marked the history of science. (Science & Mathematics)

Proceedings

Author: Royal Institution of Great Britain

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Science

Page: N.A

View: 1840

The Chemical Age

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Chemical industry

Page: N.A

View: 8097

The Roy G. Neville Historical Chemical Library

An Annotated Catalogue of Printed Books on Alchemy, Chemistry, Chemical Technology, and Related Subjects

Author: Roy G. Neville

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Chemistry

Page: N.A

View: 1477

Through alchemy to chemistry

a procession of ideas & personalities

Author: John Read

Publisher: Ams Pr Inc

ISBN: N.A

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 206

View: 5138

Physical Chemistry

A Very Short Introduction

Author: Peter Atkins

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 0199689091

Category: Science

Page: 128

View: 6216

In this essential guide for students of chemistry, Peter Atkins' Very Short Introduction explains the principles and phenomena of physical chemistry. Using few formulas, Atkins shows how physical chemistry draws its ideas from physics, quantum mechanics, and mathematics, and how it has contributed to our understanding of the natural world.

Der Marsianer

Roman

Author: Andy Weir

Publisher: Heyne Verlag

ISBN: 3641144000

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 9961

Gestrandet auf dem Mars Der Astronaut Mark Watney war auf dem besten Weg, eine lebende Legende zu werden, schließlich war er der erste Mensch in der Geschichte der Raumfahrt, der je den Mars betreten hat. Nun, sechs Tage später, ist Mark auf dem besten Weg, der erste Mensch zu werden, der auf dem Mars sterben wird: Bei einer Expedition auf dem Roten Planeten gerät er in einen Sandsturm, und als er aus seiner Bewusstlosigkeit erwacht, ist er allein. Auf dem Mars. Ohne Ausrüstung. Ohne Nahrung. Und ohne Crew, denn die ist bereits auf dem Weg zurück zur Erde. Es ist der Beginn eines spektakulären Überlebenskampfes ...

Geschichte der organischen Chemie seit 1880

Band 2: Seit 1880

Author: Paul Walden

Publisher: Springer-Verlag

ISBN: 3642651062

Category: Science

Page: 946

View: 5930

Dieser Buchtitel ist Teil des Digitalisierungsprojekts Springer Book Archives mit Publikationen, die seit den Anfängen des Verlags von 1842 erschienen sind. Der Verlag stellt mit diesem Archiv Quellen für die historische wie auch die disziplingeschichtliche Forschung zur Verfügung, die jeweils im historischen Kontext betrachtet werden müssen. Dieser Titel erschien in der Zeit vor 1945 und wird daher in seiner zeittypischen politisch-ideologischen Ausrichtung vom Verlag nicht beworben.