Choice

Publication of the Association of College and Research Libraries, a Division of the American Library Association

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Academic libraries

Page: N.A

View: 4114

The Round Table

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: American literature

Page: N.A

View: 3600

Still

Die Bedeutung von Introvertierten in einer lauten Welt

Author: Susan Cain

Publisher: Riemann Verlag

ISBN: 3641106214

Category: Psychology

Page: 464

View: 1926

Selbstsicheres Auftreten und die Beherrschung von Small Talk sind nicht alles. Susan Cains glänzendes Plädoyer für die Qualitäten der Stillen. „Ein leerer Topf klappert am lautesten“. Aber wer der Welt etwas Bedeutendes schenken will, benötigt Zeit und Sorgfalt, um es in Stille reifen zu lassen. „Still“ ist ein Plädoyer für die Ruhe, die in unserer Welt des Marktgeschreis und der Klingeltöne zu verschwinden droht. Und für leise Menschen, die lernen sollten, zu ihrem „So-Sein“ zu stehen. Ohne sie hätten wir heute keine Relativitätstheorie, keinen „Harry Potter“, keine Klavierstücke Chopins, und auch die Suchmaschine „Google“ wäre nie entwickelt worden. „Still“ baut eine Brücke zwischen den Welten, kritisiert aber das gesellschaftliche Ungleichgewicht zugunsten der Partylöwen und Dampfplauderer. Es herrscht eine „extrovertierte Ethik“, die stille Wasser zwingt, sich anzupassen oder unterzugehen. Ihre Eigenschaften – Ernsthaftigkeit, Sensibilität und Scheu – gelten eher als Krankheitssymptome denn als Qualitäten. Zu unrecht, sagt Susan Cain, und stellt sich gegen den Trend, der „selbstbewusstes Auftreten“ verherrlicht. „Still“ ist das Kultbuch für Introvertierte, hilft aber auch Extrovertierten, ihre Mitmenschen besser zu verstehen.

AB Bookman's Weekly

For the Specialist Book World

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Antiquarian booksellers

Page: N.A

View: 6706

Congressional Record

Proceedings and Debates of the ... Congress

Author: United States. Congress

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Law

Page: N.A

View: 9709

The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. The Congressional Record began publication in 1873. Debates for sessions prior to 1873 are recorded in The Debates and Proceedings in the Congress of the United States (1789-1824), the Register of Debates in Congress (1824-1837), and the Congressional Globe (1833-1873)

Die Federalist papers

Author: Alexander Hamilton,James Madison,John Jay

Publisher: C.H.Beck

ISBN: 9783406547546

Category: Constitutional history

Page: 583

View: 4828

Antiquarian Bookman

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Antiquarian booksellers

Page: N.A

View: 6861

Forest and Stream

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Birds

Page: N.A

View: 1460

Seven Sisters

Spiritual Messages from Aboriginal Australia

Author: Laine Cunningham

Publisher: Sun Dogs Creations

ISBN: 0982239939

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 108

View: 3440

WINNER, CAROLINA WOMAN INSPIRATION AWARD For readers of The Secret, The Things You Can See Only When You Slow Down by Haemin Sunim, Eckhart Tolle, Louise Hay, and Paul Coelho. According to Australia's ancient cultures, all creatures and things emerged from the Dreamtime. The Dreaming is not just a collection of lore or a long-ago time; it is a living energy that flows constantly through the universe. It is then and now, divine and human, spirit and law. Because the spiritual energy is as vibrant today as ever, these ancient stories show us how to survive in a harsh world and how to thrive in our souls. In the pages of this self-help book are inspirational stories packed with motivational quotes geared toward self-improvement. Each Aboriginal story, retold for a modern audience, is enhanced with an essay from award-winning author Laine Cunningham. Our modern perspectives on love and friendship, illness and joy, life and the afterlife can be enriched with this ancient knowledge. In The Dance, readers are inspired to follow their dreams while staying balanced in their lives. Trickery and Seven Sisters address love, friendship, self-esteem, personal development, and women’s power. Other stories demonstrate the law of attraction, the mind-body-spirit or mind-body-soul connection, and how to heal feelings and emotions. Open this book and take your own journey through the eternal Dreamtime. Every turn of the page will develop motivational thoughts, inspiration, and true joy. Discover that the ancient connection to god/goddess/the divine still resonates in your soul. Discover your own truth. For fans of The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People by Stephen R. Covey, The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck by Mark Manson, Dear Madam President by Jennifer Palmieri, You are a Badass by Jen Sincero, Girl, Wash Your Face by Rachel Hollis, This is Me by Chrissy Metz, The Four Agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz, The Year of Less by Cait Flanders, The Gifts of Imperfection by Brene Brown, Unfu*k Yourself by Gary John Bishop, I’ve Been Thinking by Maria Shriver, The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo, Crushing It! by Gary Vaynerchuk, Make Your Bed by William H. McRaven, and Own the Day, Own Your Life by Aubrey Marcus. Excerpts from this book have been published in spiritual, literary, and inspirational magazines and newsletters, and have been honored with a women’s inspiration award. Laine Cunningham’s understanding of Aboriginal culture began during a six-month solo journey through the Australian Outback. The same visions that drew her into the red desert also told her that she would die there. A miraculous connection to divine energy saved her life and launched her along the path she follows to this day. "The fact that Laine Cunningham spent six long months on her own in the Australian outback before writing this book gave a rich authenticity to her voice as she shared from her abundantly full, and talented, heart." Leah Griffith, Award-winning Author Cosette's Tribe "Loved it! The traditional Aboriginal stories are fascinating reads. From reading Laine's book, it's easy to feel the sacredness in the Aboriginal culture. I hadn't felt this moved by Aboriginal spirituality since viewing Oprah Winfrey's visit to Australia's Uluru rock." Virginia Lathan "Well written and highly informative, Seven Sisters was even better than I'd hoped." C Laney, Author, Lessons from the Cockpit "Ever since Laine's first book on Australia, The Family Made of Dust, I have waited anxiously for her next creative work. Seven Sisters molded a deeper understanding of the indigenous concept of 'Dreamtime.' Laine has delicately represented a series of spiritual perspectives leading us to the core of the Aboriginal heart. With her insight, she must have been a native medicine woman in a previous life." Dale Stacy, Author, Diamond in the Rough "An intriguing look at the culture of Australia told through a rich oral history and passed down through the ages. The stories they tell are their way of explaining many mysteries of the universe and of life." Mary Blowers, Book Review Blog "As a teacher I can see this book being great for many audiences. I personally enjoyed the stories as a nice afternoon pleasure read. I can see the book as a whole being used with older children to help them learn to analyze text and younger children to help teach important life lessons." Robin Perron, Teacher "Seven Sisters is comprised of unique stories that have been passed down from generation to generation among the Australian Aborigines. The stories offer insights into another culture, each with a life lesson, and the author adds her own insights to each story." Shaman Elizabeth, Author with the Foundation for Shamanic Studies "I thought this book would be a quick read, but I found myself lingering, absorbing the message of each story before moving on to the next. I found this book to be both entertaining and informative, one I will probably reread quite a few times." Dena Harris, Award-winning Author, Who Moved My Mouse?

Anthropology Newsletter

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Anthropological linguistics

Page: N.A

View: 1513

Wenn Männer mir die Welt erklären

Erweiterte Neuausgabe mit 2 neuen und bislang unveröffentlichten Essays

Author: Rebecca Solnit

Publisher: Hoffmann und Campe

ISBN: 3455003486

Category: Social Science

Page: 224

View: 6337

»Das beste Buch des Jahres.« Lena Dunham Rebecca Solnit ist eine der wichtigsten feministischen Denkerinnen unserer Zeit. Ihr Essay Wenn Männer mir die Welt erklären hat weltweit für Furore gesorgt: Scharfsinnig analysiert Solnit männliche Arroganz, die die Kommunikation zwischen Männern und Frauen erschwert. Voller Biss, Komik und stilistischer Eleganz widmet sie sich in ihren Essays dem augenblicklichen Zustand der Geschlechterverhältnisse. Ein Mann, der mit seinem Wissen prahlt, in der Annahme, dass seine Gesprächspartnerin ohnehin keine Ahnung hat - jede Frau hat diese Situation schon einmal erlebt. Rebecca Solnit untersucht dieses Phänomen und weitere Mechanismen von Sexismus. Sie deckt Missstände auf, die meist gar nicht als solche erkannt werden, weil Übergriffe auf Frauen akzeptiert sind, als normal gelten. Dabei befasst sich die Autorin mit der Kernfamilie als Institution genauso wie mit Gewalt gegen Frauen, französischen Sex-Skandalen, Virginia Woolf oder postkolonialen Machtverhältnissen. Leidenschaftlich, präzise und mit einem radikal neuen Blick zeigt Rebecca Solnit auf, was längst noch nicht selbstverständlich ist: Für die Gleichberechtigung von Frauen und Männern gilt es, die Stimme zu erheben.