Shakers Re-stirred

Author: John Godber,Jane Thornton

Publisher: Chappell Plays

ISBN: N.A

Category: English drama

Page: 93

View: 5417

Shakers

Author: John Godber,Jane Thornton

Publisher: Dramatists Play Service Inc

ISBN: 9780822213161

Category: Drama

Page: 68

View: 365

THE STORY: In a not-so-chic London bar called Shakers, we meet Carol, Adele, Nicky and Mel, four friends who have taken to waitressing in desperation but who also have wit and resilience enough to never let any of the colorful characters they come

Godber Plays: 1

Bouncers; Happy Families; Shakers

Author: John Godber

Publisher: A&C Black

ISBN: 1408169886

Category: Drama

Page: 304

View: 9185

"John Godber is one of the unsung heroes of British theatre, reaching the giddy heights of number three in the most-performed playwrights league table, nestled in behind Shakespeare and Ayckbourn" - Guardian Bouncers, a play about nightlife: "A show that's worth braving any front of house, however formidable ... simply spellbinding" Guardian Happy Families: "The inseparable contradictions of family love and oppression are carefully held in this fine comedy ... superb characterisation ... the rhythms of Godber's dialogue are freshly funny, the pace precise" Independent Shakers, a play about party-goers: "This is one of those slices of life that everyone can recognise and laugh at" Liverpool Daily Post

The One-Act Play Companion

A Guide to plays, playwrights and performance

Author: Colin Dolley,Rex Walford

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 1408103168

Category: Study Aids

Page: 224

View: 6511

The one-act play stands apart as a distinct art form with some well known writers providing specialist material, among them Bernard Shaw, Tom Stoppard, Harold Pinter, Caryl Churchill. Alan Ayckbourn, Edward Albee and Tennesee Williams. There are also lesser-known writers with plenty of material to offer, yet sourcing one-act plays to perform is notoriously hard. This companion is the first book to survey the work of over 250 playwrights in an illuminating A-Z guide. Multiple styles, nationalities and periods are covered, offering a treasure trove of compelling moments of theatre waiting to be discovered. Guidance on performing and staging one-act plays is also covered as well as essential contact information and where to apply for performance rights. A chapter introducing the history of the one-act play rounds off the title as a definitive guide.

Godber Plays: 2

Teechers; Happy Jack; September in the Rain; Salt of the Earth

Author: John Godber

Publisher: A&C Black

ISBN: 1472536460

Category: Drama

Page: 304

View: 5466

"John Godber is one of the unsung heroes of British theatre, reaching the giddy heights of number three in the most-performed playwrights league table, nestled in behind Shakespeare and Ayckbourn" - Guardian Teechers: "In a class of its own ... Godber takes a hard-hitting look at life in a modern comprehensive where class conflicts, teacher tantrums and cavorting chaos runs riot through the corridors" The Express Happy Jack: "Godber manages with an affectionate and unerringly accurate ear for the tongues of the pit village to turn these two into a Chaucerian kind of celebration of life. At the end of the line the play is a sad, bruised but richly comic love story" Guardian September in the Rain: "The work of a genuinely talented playwright" Evening Standard Salt of the Earth: "John Godber has a special gift for capturing the lives and inner turmoil of the working class ... In the most subtle and incisive ways, he suggests how the combination of innate personality and a changing society determines individual destiny" Chicago Times

Theatre Record

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Theater

Page: N.A

View: 7568

Plays & Players

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Theater

Page: N.A

View: 848

Plays 3

Author: John Godber

Publisher: A&C Black

ISBN: 9780413773043

Category: Drama

Page: 281

View: 1255

This third collection of plays by Britain’s most-performed living playwright includes comical and touching tales of English life, packed full of caravan holidays, malicious neighbors, magazine competitions, romantic breaks for two, and pub-rugby. Up 'n' Under: "John Godber's affectionate hymn to rugby league no-hopers."—The Stage Perfect Pitch: "A triumphant demonstration that new plays can be both popular and truthful. Godber's writing has matured and here we see the rough externals of class warfare give way to a more internal dialogue with character and feelings."—Sunday Times April in Paris: "It can only be described as a comedy. Some of it is very funny. Yet it is the sadness that prevails, along with the craftsmanship."—Financial Times John Godber is artistic director of Hull Truck Theatre Company. His plays include Happy Jack, Bouncers, Passion Killers, and Lucky Sods. He lives in Hull, England.

The New Beacon

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Blind

Page: N.A

View: 485

A Creative Writing Handbook

Developing Dramatic Technique, Individual Style and Voice

Author: Bill Greenwell

Publisher: A&C Black

ISBN: 9781408109410

Category: Creative writing

Page: 415

View: 2145

Packed with stimulating writing exercises, numerous quotes and over 30 extracts from literature across a wide variety of genres, this text presents writing skills to enrich your work.

Plays International

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Theater

Page: N.A

View: 6176

Die Bücherdiebin

Roman

Author: Markus Zusak

Publisher: cbj Verlag

ISBN: 3894804270

Category: Fiction

Page: 592

View: 3242

Selbst der Tod hat ein Herz ... Molching bei München. Hans und Rosa Hubermann nehmen die kleine Liesel Meminger bei sich auf – für eine bescheidene Beihilfe, die ihnen die ersten Kriegsjahre kaum erträglicher macht. Für Liesel jedoch bricht eine Zeit voller Hoffnung, voll schieren Glücks an – in dem Augenblick, als sie zu stehlen beginnt. Anfangs ist es nur ein Buch, das im Schnee liegen geblieben ist. Dann eines, das sie aus dem Feuer rettet. Dann Äpfel, Kartoffeln und Zwiebeln. Das Herz von Rudi. Die Herzen von Hans und Rosa Hubermann. Das Herz von Max. Und das des Todes. Denn selbst der Tod hat ein Herz. „Die Bücherdiebin“ ist eine Liebesgeschichte, eine Hommage an Bücher und Worte und eine Erinnerung an die Macht der Sprache, die im Roman von Markus Zusak viele Facetten zeigt: den lakonisch-distanzierten Ton des Erzählers, Poesie und Zuversicht – und die reduzierte Sprache der Nazipropaganda.

God Among the Shakers

Search for Stillness & Faith at Sabbathday Lake

Author: Suzanne Skees

Publisher: Hyperion

ISBN: 9780786883646

Category: Religion

Page: 288

View: 407

In the tradition of "Plain and Simple" and "The Cloister Walk", this book offers a rare, intimate account of one woman's journey into the world of the Shakers--a radical Christian sect whose belief in a Mother-Father God, equal rights for all, and direct interaction with the spirits of the dead shocked other established religious communities Print ads. NPR sponsorships .

Shaker Music

Original Inspirational Hymns and Songs Illustrative of the Resurrection Life and Testimony of the Shakers

Author: Shakers

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Hymns, English

Page: 250

View: 5938

Shaker Music

Original Inspirational Hymns and Songs Illustrative of the Resurrection Life and Testimony of the Shakers

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Hymns, English

Page: 250

View: 5873

Rotordynamik

Eine Einführung

Author: R. Gasch,H. Pfützner

Publisher: Springer-Verlag

ISBN: 3662097869

Category: Technology & Engineering

Page: 188

View: 1833

Während noch vor wenigen Jahrzehnten die Forschung auf dem Gebiet der Maschinendynamik hauptsächlich den Kolbenmaschinen galt, ist mittlerweile eine Akzentverschiebung zu den Maschinen mit ausschließlich rotierenden Teilen, wie Turbomaschinen und Elektro motoren eingetreten. Das hängt einmal damit zusammen, daß Gas turbinen, Turbopumpen, Turboverdichter und Elektromotoren Anwen dungsgebiete erobert haben, die früher Kolbenmaschinen vorbehalten waren. Außerdem sind durch das Bestreben, die Leistungsgewichte durch Drehzahlerhöhungen zu verringern, Probleme aufgetreten, wie beispiels weise Fragen der Laufstabilität, die früher ohne Bedeutung für die Praxis waren. Daher wurde die Forschung auf diesem Gebiet in den letzten Jahren intensiviert. In dieser Einführung in die Dynamik biegeelastischer Läufer haben wir versucht, die Fülle interessanter, oft sogar verblüffender Phänomene am einfachsten Rotormodell darzustellen. Wir haben uns auf die Behand lung des Laval-Läufers - der elastischen Welle mit aufgesetzter Scheibe - beschränkt, an dem sich bereits die wichtigsten Erscheinungen auf zeigen lassen. Da die Zahl der Freiheitsgrade niedrig ist, ist meist noch eine geschlossene Lösung der Bewegungsgleichungen möglich. Mit diesem Buch wenden wir uns an Studenten der Hochschulen und an Ingenieure in der Praxis. Wir hoffen, daß durch den sparsamen Ge brauch der höheren Mathematik das Verständnis auch dem Anfänger wesentlich erleichtert wird. Verbesserungsvorschläge und Hinweise auf Fehler nehmen wir gern entgegen.

Eis wie Feuer

Author: Sara Raasch

Publisher: cbt Verlag

ISBN: 3641190916

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 544

View: 2504

Sie ist pure Magie Drei Monate sind seit der großen Schlacht zwischen dem Königreich Winter und Frühling vergangen, bei der König Angra in die Flucht geschlagen wurde. Thronerbin von Winter, Meira, will vor allem eines: Frieden und Sicherheit für ihr Volk. Doch als die verloren geglaubte Quelle der Magie in den Minen der Winterianer gefunden wird, stellt dies das gesamte Machtgefüge in Frage: Prinz Theron brennt darauf, die Magie als Waffe gegen die Feinde von Winter einzusetzen. Meira jedoch fürchtet die Kräfte, die sie damit entfesseln könnte ...

Allure

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Beauty, Personal

Page: N.A

View: 6730