The Book Lovers' Companion

What to Read Next

Author: Lionel Shriver

Publisher: Michael O'Mara Books

ISBN: 9781843179603

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 224

View: 4539

A comprehensive reading guide for book lovers, which makes the choosing of the next book that much easier. With recommended titles ranging from the classics to current bestsellers, as well as a few that may take you out of your comfort zone, you need look no further than The Book Lovers' Companion to make the perfect pick. Each report contains a succinct summary of the recommended title, as well as probing discussion points and fascinating background facts, together with suggestions on further reading Great as a gift for the enthusiastic book club member or for use as a personal guide to what's hot in the world of literature.

The Book Lovers' Companion

What to Read Next

Author: Various Authors

Publisher: Michael O'Mara Books

ISBN: 1782433643

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 334

View: 1739

With so many fantastic books out there, it can often be difficult to choose what to read next. Thankfully, The Book Lovers' Companion - an updated and revised version of The Book Club Bible - is here to help: bringing together a huge range of the best and most loved titles in one comprehensive guide. Featuring a diverse selection of books to choose from, from Pride and Prejudice to the modern classics as well as the latest bestsellers, this guide includes interesting discussion points and facts that will be indispensable for book lovers as well as potential companion books with similar themes, honest opinions from readers and razor-sharp reviews from critics, so you'll know you're making the right choice every time. Compiled by a range of English literature experts and avid readers, and with a foreword by Lionel Shriver, author of We Need To Talk About Kevin, The Book Lovers' Companion is sure to inspire any book lover. You need never read a bad book again!

I'd Rather Be Reading

The Delights and Dilemmas of the Reading Life

Author: Anne Bogel

Publisher: Baker Books

ISBN: 149341531X

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 160

View: 6012

For so many people, reading isn't just a hobby or a way to pass the time--it's a lifestyle. Our books shape us, define us, enchant us, and even sometimes infuriate us. Our books are a part of who we are as people, and we can't imagine life without them. I'd Rather Be Reading is the perfect literary companion for everyone who feels that way. In this collection of charming and relatable reflections on the reading life, beloved blogger and author Anne Bogel leads readers to remember the book that first hooked them, the place where they first fell in love with reading, and all of the moments afterward that helped make them the reader they are today. Known as a reading tastemaker through her popular podcast What Should I Read Next?, Bogel invites book lovers into a community of like-minded people to discover new ways to approach literature, learn fascinating new things about books and publishing, and reflect on the role reading plays in their lives. The perfect gift for the bibliophile in everyone's life, I'd Rather Be Reading will command an honored place on the overstuffed bookshelves of any book lover.

Reading Log: Stylish Book Review Journal - Keep a Reading Log Journal of Your Best-Loved Books!

Author: Happy Oak Tree Journals

Publisher: Independently Published

ISBN: 9781091133129

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 128

View: 3564

A Book Lover's Favorite Companion - Log and Review Your Favorite Books! Are you an avid reader? If so, you probably know that it can be hard to recall what you liked and disliked about a lot of the books you've read. Well, those days are over! Get Your Hands on This 'Reading Log' With this book review journal, you'll be able to write down all the important things about each book you read: Author name Book title Your review Plot Main characters, and Inspiring quotes By adding each book to the book overview in the beginning, you'll always be able to quickly find each book review. Also, if you run out of space, there's additional room for notes at the end. With this reading log journal, you can review up to 100 books. That's enough reading material to use the power of your imagination for years! What if you don't know which book to read next? No need to worry: this Book Review Journal also contains a list of the 100 best-loved books of all time to inspire you. So, are you ready to start logging and reviewing your books? Then scroll up and click the 'Buy' button now to get your copy!

Reading Journal: Beautiful Reading Log Journal - Take Notes and Rate the Books You've Read

Author: Happy Oak Tree Journals

Publisher: Independently Published

ISBN: 9781091133143

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 128

View: 8938

A Book Lover's Favorite Companion - Log and Review Your Favorite Books! Are you an avid reader? If so, you probably know that it can be hard to recall what you liked and disliked about a lot of the books you've read. Well, those days are over! Get Your Hands on This 'Reading Journal' With this book review journal, you'll be able to write down all the important things about each book you read: Author name Book title Your review Plot Main characters, and Inspiring quotes By adding each book to the book overview in the beginning, you'll always be able to quickly find each book review. Also, if you run out of space, there's additional room for notes at the end. With this reading log journal, you can review up to 100 books. That's enough reading material to use the power of your imagination for years! What if you don't know which book to read next? No need to worry: this Book Review Journal also contains a list of the 100 best-loved books of all time to inspire you. So, are you ready to start logging and reviewing your books? Then scroll up and click the 'Buy' button now to get your copy!

The Dog Lover's Companion to California

The Inside Scoop on Where to Take Your Dog

Author: Maria Goodavage

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1612382452

Category: Travel

Page: 1048

View: 2927

The Dog Lover's Companion to California has the inside scoop on the best dog runs, parks, beaches, hiking trails, camping areas, pet-friendly businesses, and much more. Local author Maria Goodavage and her trusty companion Jake have dug up many surprising resources available to dogs in the Golden State, such as baseball games, summer camps, and pet parades. For the less outdoorsy dog, there are doggy spas, art openings, and even winery visits! Packed with helpful maps, up-to-date leash laws, and a useful "paw" ranking system for all locations in the book, The Dog Lover's Companion to California is a dog's best friend.

The New York Public Library literature companion

Author: New York Public Library,Anne Skillion

Publisher: Free Pr

ISBN: N.A

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 772

View: 5870

Compiles information about English-language literature from around the world, discussing authors, works of literature, recommended reading, censorship, literary characters, and a chronology of world literature.

Gregs Tagebuch - Von Idioten umzingelt!

Author: Jeff Kinney

Publisher: BASTEI LÜBBE

ISBN: 3732508684

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 224

View: 708

Bei dieser Ausgabe handelt es sich um ein PDF. Bitte informieren Sie sich vor dem Kauf darüber, ob Ihr Gerät diese Datei öffnen und korrekt darstellen kann. Greg hat von seiner Mutter ein Tagebuch geschenkt bekommen. Und das, obwohl Tagebücher doch eigentlich nur was für Mädchen sind! Oder etwa doch nicht? Greg jedenfalls beginnt einfach mal darin zu schreiben und zu zeichnen: über seine lästigen Brüder, seine Eltern, seinen trotteligen Freund Rupert, den täglichen Überlebenskampf in der Schule, ein echt gruseliges Geisterhaus und über den verbotenen Stinkekäse ...

The Wine Club

A Month-by-Month Guide to Learning about Wine with Friends

Author: Maureen Christian Petrosky

Publisher: Meredith Books

ISBN: 9780696225437

Category: Cooking

Page: 224

View: 561

"You'll enjoy learning more about wine and food with your friends when you start your own wine club. It's casual, fun, as easy as opening a bottle, and every club meeting is a party."--Cover.

What Do I Read Next?

A Reader's Guide to Current Genre Fiction

Author: Neil Barron,Daniel S. Burt,Tom Barton

Publisher: Gale / Cengage Learning

ISBN: 9780787661823

Category: Fiction genres

Page: 690

View: 4628

Provides synopses for over 1,500 titles of current popular fiction and recommends other books by such criteria as authors, characters portrayed, time period, geographical setting, or genre

Reading Dante: From Here to Eternity

Author: Prue Shaw

Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

ISBN: 0871407809

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 398

View: 2755

The best and most eloquent introduction to Dante for our time. Prue Shaw is one of the world's foremost authorities on Dante. Written with the general reader in mind, Reading Dante brings her knowledge to bear in an accessible yet expert introduction to his great poem. This is far more than an exegesis of Dante’s three-part Commedia. Shaw communicates the imaginative power, the linguistic skill and the emotional intensity of Dante’s poetry—the qualities that make the Commedia perhaps the greatest literary work of all time and not simply a medieval treatise on morality and religion. The book provides a graphic account of the complicated geography of Dante's version of the afterlife and a sure guide to thirteenth-century Florence and the people and places that influenced him. At the same time it offers a literary experience that lifts the reader into the universal realms of poetry and mythology, creating links not only to the classical world of Virgil and Ovid but also to modern art and poetry, the world of T. S. Eliot, Seamus Heaney and many others. Dante's questions are our questions: What is it to be a human being? How should we judge human behavior? What matters in life and in death? Reading Dante helps the reader to understand Dante’s answers to these timeless questions and to see how surprisingly close they sometimes are to modern answers. Reading Dante is an astonishingly lyrical work that will appeal to both those who’ve never read the Commedia and those who have. It underscores Dante's belief that poetry can change human lives.

A Companion to Pablo Neruda

Evaluating Neruda's Poetry

Author: Jason Wilson

Publisher: Boydell & Brewer Ltd

ISBN: 1855662809

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 266

View: 9764

The making of a great Chilean poet.

Das Bierbuch

Brauereien Marken Biertouren. Über 1700 Biere aus aller Welt

Author: Tim Hampson

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783831028245

Category:

Page: 352

View: 8524

The Divine Companion (Annotated with Biography about James Allen)

Author: James Allen

Publisher: Golgotha Press

ISBN: 1610426541

Category: Religion

Page: 60

View: 639

It cannot be said of this book that James Allen wrote it at any particular time or in any one year, for he was engaged in it over many years and those who have eyes to see and hearts to understand will find in its pages the spiritual history of his life. It was his own wish that The Divine Companion should be the last MS of his to be published. "It is the story of my soul," he said, " and should be read last of all my books, so that the student may understand and find my message in its pages. Therefore hold it back until you have published everything else." There remain now only his dramatic works and a few poems to be included in the next edition of Poems of Peace. That The Divine Companion will prove a companion indeed to thousands who have read his books in the past, I have no doubt. To read it is to hear again the voice of the writer, and to study its message is to once again sit at his feet. He trod the Way himself - every bit of it, and he therefore speaks as one having authority. Lovers of James Allen’s works will indeed be filled with joy to know that there is yet another book from his inspired pen, and will eagerly welcome The Divine Companion. This version of the classic book includes a biography about the life and times of James Allen.

Southern Belly

A Food Lover's Companion

Author: John T. Edge

Publisher: Algonquin Books

ISBN: 1565128419

Category: Travel

Page: 352

View: 3022

John T. Edge, "the Faulkner of Southern food" (the Miami Herald), reveals a South hidden in plain sight, where restaurants boast family pedigrees and serve supremely local specialties found nowhere else. From backdoor home kitchens to cinder-block cafés, he introduces you to cooks who have been standing tall by the stove since Eisenhower was in office. While revealing the stories behind their food, he shines a bright light on places that have become Southern institutions. In this fully updated and expanded edition, with recipes throughout, Edge travels from chicken shack to fish camp, from barbecue stand to pie shed. Pop this handy paperback in the glove box to take along on your next road trip. And even if you never get in the car, you'll enjoy the most savory history that the South has to offer.

Schuld und Sühne

Roman

Author: Fe͏̈dor Michajlovič Dostoevskij

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783866477650

Category:

Page: 798

View: 3377

Selection Storys – Liebe oder Pflicht

Author: Kiera Cass

Publisher: S. Fischer Verlag

ISBN: 3733600657

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 272

View: 3383

Für alle ›Selection‹-Fans, die sehnsüchtig auf Band 3 der Bestseller-Serie warten Bevor America zum Casting antrat, um die Hand des Prinzen von Illéa zu erobern, gehörte ihr Herz einem anderen. Dass dieser andere nun ihr Leibwächter am Königshof ist, macht America die Entscheidung für einen der beiden nicht eben leichter. Doch wie erleben Prinz Maxon und Americas Jugendliebe Aspen eigentlich das Casting? Gab es in Maxons Leben noch andere Mädchen? Und was spricht der Prinz mit den anderen Bewerberinnen, wenn er gerade kein Date mit America hat? Was ist Aspens schlimmster Alptraum? Vor allem aber: Welche Fäden zieht Maxons Vater, der König, hinter den Kulissen? Spannende Hintergrund-Informationen für alle, die wissen wollen, wie es in Prinz Maxon und Aspen wirklich aussieht ...

The Opera Lover's Companion

Author: Charles Osborne

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN: 0300130813

Category: MUSIC

Page: 627

View: 1873

This is a work on 175 operas by 63 different composers. The selected operas are those most frequently encountered in opera houses or on recordings. Each entry will set the opera within the context of its composer's career, outline the plot, discuss the music and give relevant background information on the provenance of the libretto, for example. Details of the first performance, and subsequent performance history will be given, as well as guidance on the relative quality of available recordings. The Yale Companion to Opera targets the regular opera-goer and the committed newcomer, rather than the academic specialist or the oneoff attender. It is not an encyclopaedia, covering every known opera, but only those with a realistic chance of public performance. It is equally concerned with the music, the plot, the libretto and the staging, and seeks to enhance the appreciation of the intelligent opera-goer.