The Book Lovers' Companion

What to Read Next

Author: Lionel Shriver

Publisher: Michael O'Mara Books

ISBN: 9781843179603

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 224

View: 7509

A comprehensive reading guide for book lovers, which makes the choosing of the next book that much easier. With recommended titles ranging from the classics to current bestsellers, as well as a few that may take you out of your comfort zone, you need look no further than The Book Lovers' Companion to make the perfect pick. Each report contains a succinct summary of the recommended title, as well as probing discussion points and fascinating background facts, together with suggestions on further reading Great as a gift for the enthusiastic book club member or for use as a personal guide to what's hot in the world of literature.

The Book Lovers' Companion

What to Read Next

Author: Various Authors

Publisher: Michael O'Mara Books

ISBN: 1782433643

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 334

View: 6125

With so many fantastic books out there, it can often be difficult to choose what to read next. Thankfully, The Book Lovers' Companion - an updated and revised version of The Book Club Bible - is here to help: bringing together a huge range of the best and most loved titles in one comprehensive guide. Featuring a diverse selection of books to choose from, from Pride and Prejudice to the modern classics as well as the latest bestsellers, this guide includes interesting discussion points and facts that will be indispensable for book lovers as well as potential companion books with similar themes, honest opinions from readers and razor-sharp reviews from critics, so you'll know you're making the right choice every time. Compiled by a range of English literature experts and avid readers, and with a foreword by Lionel Shriver, author of We Need To Talk About Kevin, The Book Lovers' Companion is sure to inspire any book lover. You need never read a bad book again!

Dieses Leben, das wir haben

Roman

Author: Lionel Shriver

Publisher: Piper Verlag

ISBN: 3492952658

Category: Fiction

Page: 544

View: 5149

Den Alltagsärger hinter sich lassen, die Welt sehen, nachdenken – so hat sich Shepherd den Rest seines Lebens vorgestellt. Seine Frau Glynis kann ihm dabei nicht folgen – sie stellt ihn vor eine tragische Wahl. Nach ihrem mitreißenden Roman »Liebespaarungen« erzählt Lionel Shrivers neues Buch von den Wandlungen einer Ehe in schweren Zeiten. Und auch von dem Glück, das daraus entstehen kann.

Book Lust

Recommended Reading for Every Mood, Moment, and Reason

Author: Nancy Pearl

Publisher: Sasquatch Books

ISBN: 1570616590

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 304

View: 9525

What to read next is every book lover's greatest dilemma. Nancy Pearl comes to the rescue with this wide-ranging and fun guide to the best reading new and old. Pearl, who inspired legions of litterateurs with "What If All (name the city) Read the Same Book," has devised reading lists that cater to every mood, occasion, and personality. These annotated lists cover such topics as mother-daughter relationships, science for nonscientists, mysteries of all stripes, African-American fiction from a female point of view, must-reads for kids, books on bicycling, "chick-lit," and many more. Pearl's enthusiasm and taste shine throughout.

I'd Rather Be Reading

The Delights and Dilemmas of the Reading Life

Author: Anne Bogel

Publisher: Baker Books

ISBN: 149341531X

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 160

View: 6256

For so many people, reading isn't just a hobby or a way to pass the time--it's a lifestyle. Our books shape us, define us, enchant us, and even sometimes infuriate us. Our books are a part of who we are as people, and we can't imagine life without them. I'd Rather Be Reading is the perfect literary companion for everyone who feels that way. In this collection of charming and relatable reflections on the reading life, beloved blogger and author Anne Bogel leads readers to remember the book that first hooked them, the place where they first fell in love with reading, and all of the moments afterward that helped make them the reader they are today. Known as a reading tastemaker through her popular podcast What Should I Read Next?, Bogel invites book lovers into a community of like-minded people to discover new ways to approach literature, learn fascinating new things about books and publishing, and reflect on the role reading plays in their lives. The perfect gift for the bibliophile in everyone's life, I'd Rather Be Reading will command an honored place on the overstuffed bookshelves of any book lover.

100 One-Night Reads

A Book Lover's Guide

Author: David C. Major,John S. Major

Publisher: Ballantine Books

ISBN: 0307480895

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 336

View: 584

Readers everywhere know that nothing soothes the spirit like sinking into a really good book. If you're one of that happy band, you'll quickly recognize the authors of this inspired reading guide as kindred spirits. Here David and John Major have chosen one hundred books that can each be delightfully consumed in one quiet evening. Covering categories from fantasy to fiction, history to humor, mystery to memoir, this addictive volume features books to match all your moods—by both celebrated writers and gifted unknowns, including: • Russell Baker • Willa Cather • Raymond Chandler • F. Scott Fitzgerald • Graham Greene • Edith Hamilton • Dashiell Hammett • Helene Hanff • Ernest Hemingway • Patricia Highsmith • Shirley Jackson • Henry James • W. Somerset Maugham • Mary McCarthy • Walter Mosley • Vladimir Nabokov • Patrick O'Brian • Barbara Pym • Phillip Roth • Vikram Seth • Isaac Bashevis Singer • C. P. Snow • Dylan Thomas • Evelyn Waugh • Edith Wharton • Laura Ingalls Wilder • Virginia Woolf Each selection contains an entertaining discussion of what makes the book special, from an adventurous writing style to a unique sense of humor. The Majors also share insights about the authors and literary anecdotes, as well as recommend other gems on a similar subject or by the same author. A literary companion to relish and refer to again and again, 100 One-Night Reads is a masterpiece in its own right! From the Trade Paperback edition.

Gregs Tagebuch - Von Idioten umzingelt!

Author: Jeff Kinney

Publisher: BASTEI LÜBBE

ISBN: 3732508684

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 224

View: 6081

Bei dieser Ausgabe handelt es sich um ein PDF. Bitte informieren Sie sich vor dem Kauf darüber, ob Ihr Gerät diese Datei öffnen und korrekt darstellen kann. Greg hat von seiner Mutter ein Tagebuch geschenkt bekommen. Und das, obwohl Tagebücher doch eigentlich nur was für Mädchen sind! Oder etwa doch nicht? Greg jedenfalls beginnt einfach mal darin zu schreiben und zu zeichnen: über seine lästigen Brüder, seine Eltern, seinen trotteligen Freund Rupert, den täglichen Überlebenskampf in der Schule, ein echt gruseliges Geisterhaus und über den verbotenen Stinkekäse ...

The Dog Lover's Companion to California

The Inside Scoop on Where to Take Your Dog

Author: Maria Goodavage

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1612382452

Category: Travel

Page: 1048

View: 1448

The Dog Lover's Companion to California has the inside scoop on the best dog runs, parks, beaches, hiking trails, camping areas, pet-friendly businesses, and much more. Local author Maria Goodavage and her trusty companion Jake have dug up many surprising resources available to dogs in the Golden State, such as baseball games, summer camps, and pet parades. For the less outdoorsy dog, there are doggy spas, art openings, and even winery visits! Packed with helpful maps, up-to-date leash laws, and a useful "paw" ranking system for all locations in the book, The Dog Lover's Companion to California is a dog's best friend.

Smile

Author: Raina Telgemeier

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783833226540

Category:

Page: 213

View: 9906

The Creative Tarot

A Modern Guide to an Inspired Life

Author: Jessa Crispin

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1501120239

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 352

View: 7324

A guide for artists and creative people looking to tarot for guidance and inspiration. Written for novices and seasoned readers alike, "The Creative Tarot" is a unique guidebook that reimagines tarot cards and the ways they can boost the creative process.

Töchter des Himmels

Roman

Author: Amy Tan

Publisher: Goldmann Verlag

ISBN: 3641149592

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 635

Vier junge Frauen zwischen altem China und neuer Welt. Waverly, June, Rose und Lena, vier junge Frauen in San Francisco. Durch und durch Amerikanerinnen, die der American Way of Life stark geprägt hat – im Gegensatz zu ihren Müttern. Die sind 1949 unter dramatischen Umständen vor der roten Armee in die Vereinigten Staaten geflüchtet und noch immer chinesisch bis in die Knochen. Zwei Kulturen prallen aufeinander und scheinen nicht zueinanderzufinden. Bis die Töchter erkennen, dass sie die einmalige Chance haben, zwei Welten in sich zu verbinden, sie müssen nur bereit dafür sein.

The New York Public Library literature companion

Author: New York Public Library,Anne Skillion

Publisher: Free Pr

ISBN: N.A

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 772

View: 306

Compiles information about English-language literature from around the world, discussing authors, works of literature, recommended reading, censorship, literary characters, and a chronology of world literature.

Manhattan Beach

Roman

Author: Jennifer Egan

Publisher: S. Fischer Verlag

ISBN: 3104906610

Category: Fiction

Page: 496

View: 705

Tauchen Sie ein in das vibrierende New York der 30er und 40er Jahre, folgen Sie einer unvergesslichen Heldin in eine Zeit, in der alles auf dem Spiel steht. New York – von der Marinewerft in Brooklyn zu den schillernden Nachtclubs in Manhattan, von den Villen auf Long Island zu den Absteigen in der Bronx. 1942 sind die Männer an der Front, die Frauen stehen in der Fabrik. Aber Anna möchte ein besseres Leben. Seitdem der Vater verschwunden ist, sorgt sie für ihre Mutter und die pflegebedürftige Schwester. Während Anna den Vater nicht vergessen kann, verfolgt sie bestimmt ihren großen Traum: Unter die gigantischen Kriegsschiffe an den Docks möchte sie tauchen, um sie zu reparieren. Ein Beruf zu gefährlich für eine Frau – genauso wie die New Yorker Unterwelt, in der sich die Spur ihres Vaters verlor. Der Pulitzer-Preisträgerin und New York Times-Bestsellerautorin Jennifer Egan ist ein Meisterwerk mit erzählerischem Sog, mitreißender Atmosphäre und unvergesslichen Figuren gelungen – ein großes Zeitpanorama!

Southern Belly

A Food Lover's Companion

Author: John T. Edge

Publisher: Algonquin Books

ISBN: 1565128419

Category: Travel

Page: 352

View: 2692

John T. Edge, "the Faulkner of Southern food" (the Miami Herald), reveals a South hidden in plain sight, where restaurants boast family pedigrees and serve supremely local specialties found nowhere else. From backdoor home kitchens to cinder-block cafés, he introduces you to cooks who have been standing tall by the stove since Eisenhower was in office. While revealing the stories behind their food, he shines a bright light on places that have become Southern institutions. In this fully updated and expanded edition, with recipes throughout, Edge travels from chicken shack to fish camp, from barbecue stand to pie shed. Pop this handy paperback in the glove box to take along on your next road trip. And even if you never get in the car, you'll enjoy the most savory history that the South has to offer.

The Wine Club

A Month-by-Month Guide to Learning about Wine with Friends

Author: Maureen Christian Petrosky

Publisher: Meredith Books

ISBN: 9780696225437

Category: Cooking

Page: 224

View: 6027

"You'll enjoy learning more about wine and food with your friends when you start your own wine club. It's casual, fun, as easy as opening a bottle, and every club meeting is a party."--Cover.

The Sun Is Also a Star

Ein einziger Tag für die Liebe

Author: Nicola Yoon

Publisher: Dressler Verlag

ISBN: 3862720373

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 432

View: 9558

Schicksalsfäden einer großen Liebe! Wie viele Dinge müssen geschehen, welche Zufälle passieren, damit sich die Wege zweier Menschen kreuzen? Als Daniel und Natasha in New York aufeinander treffen, verguckt er sich sofort in das jamaikanische Mädchen. Die zwei teilen einen Tag voller Gespräche über das Leben, ihren Platz darin und die Frage: Ist das zwischen uns Liebe? Doch ihr Schicksal scheint bereits festzustehen, denn Natasha soll noch am selben Abend abgeschoben werden. Eine besondere Liebesgeschichte: Poetisch, berührend, ein Herzensbuch für junge Frauen!

100 Countries, 5,000 Ideas

Where to Go, When to Go, What to See, What to Do

Author: National Geographic,National Geographic Society (U.S.). Book Division

Publisher: National Geographic Books

ISBN: 1426207581

Category: Travel

Page: 399

View: 2584

A book with 200 color photos and 100 maps includes thousands of ideas for travel all over the world, organized by country. Original.

Reading Dante: From Here to Eternity

Author: Prue Shaw

Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

ISBN: 0871407809

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 398

View: 5322

The best and most eloquent introduction to Dante for our time. Prue Shaw is one of the world's foremost authorities on Dante. Written with the general reader in mind, Reading Dante brings her knowledge to bear in an accessible yet expert introduction to his great poem. This is far more than an exegesis of Dante’s three-part Commedia. Shaw communicates the imaginative power, the linguistic skill and the emotional intensity of Dante’s poetry—the qualities that make the Commedia perhaps the greatest literary work of all time and not simply a medieval treatise on morality and religion. The book provides a graphic account of the complicated geography of Dante's version of the afterlife and a sure guide to thirteenth-century Florence and the people and places that influenced him. At the same time it offers a literary experience that lifts the reader into the universal realms of poetry and mythology, creating links not only to the classical world of Virgil and Ovid but also to modern art and poetry, the world of T. S. Eliot, Seamus Heaney and many others. Dante's questions are our questions: What is it to be a human being? How should we judge human behavior? What matters in life and in death? Reading Dante helps the reader to understand Dante’s answers to these timeless questions and to see how surprisingly close they sometimes are to modern answers. Reading Dante is an astonishingly lyrical work that will appeal to both those who’ve never read the Commedia and those who have. It underscores Dante's belief that poetry can change human lives.

What Do I Read Next?

A Reader's Guide to Current Genre Fiction

Author: Neil Barron,Daniel S. Burt,Tom Barton

Publisher: Gale / Cengage Learning

ISBN: 9780787661823

Category: Fiction genres

Page: 690

View: 2704

Provides synopses for over 1,500 titles of current popular fiction and recommends other books by such criteria as authors, characters portrayed, time period, geographical setting, or genre