The Book Lovers' Companion

What to Read Next

Author: Lionel Shriver

Publisher: Michael O'Mara Books

ISBN: 9781843179603

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 224

View: 1828

A comprehensive reading guide for book lovers, which makes the choosing of the next book that much easier. With recommended titles ranging from the classics to current bestsellers, as well as a few that may take you out of your comfort zone, you need look no further than The Book Lovers' Companion to make the perfect pick. Each report contains a succinct summary of the recommended title, as well as probing discussion points and fascinating background facts, together with suggestions on further reading Great as a gift for the enthusiastic book club member or for use as a personal guide to what's hot in the world of literature.

More Book Lust

Recommended Reading for Every Mood, Moment, and Reason

Author: Nancy Pearl

Publisher: Sasquatch Books

ISBN: 1570616558

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 304

View: 6599

The response to Nancy Pearl’s surprise bestseller Book Lust was astounding: the Seattle librarian even became the model for the now-famous Librarian Action Figure. Readers everywhere welcomed Pearl’s encyclopedic but discerning filter on books worth reading, and her Rule of 50 (give a book 50 pages before deciding whether to continue; but readers over 50 must read the same number of pages as their age) became a standard MO.

A Family of Readers

The Book Lover's Guide to Children's and Young Adult Literature

Author: Roger Sutton,Martha V. Parravano

Publisher: Candlewick Press

ISBN: 0763662178

Category: Education

Page: 368

View: 1009

A FAMILY OF READERS is the definitive resource for parents interested in enriching the reading lives of their children. Roger Sutton knows how and why children read. He must, as the editor in chief of THE HORN BOOK, which since 1924 has been America’s best source for reviews of books for young readers. But for many parents, selecting books for their children can make them feel lost. Now, in this essential resource, Roger Sutton and Martha V. Parravano, executive editor at the magazine, offer thoughtful essays that consider how books are read to (and then by) young people. They invite such leading authors and artists as Maurice Sendak, Katherine Paterson, Margaret Mahy, and Jon Scieszka, as well as a selection of top critics, to add their voices about the genres they know best. The result is an indispensable readers’ companion to everything from wordless board books to the most complex and daring young adult novels.

1001 Books for Every Mood

A Bibliophile's Guide to Unwinding, Misbehaving, Forgiving, Celebrating, Commiserating

Author: Hallie Ephron

Publisher: Adams Media

ISBN: 9781598695854

Category: Reference

Page: 400

View: 791

Serves up a literary feast, sure to satisfy your emotional appetite. This is your must-have guide to hours and hours of reading pleasure, no matter what your mood!

The Opera Lover's Companion

Author: Charles Osborne

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN: 9780300123739

Category: Music

Page: 627

View: 6364

Written by a well-known authority, this book consists of 175 entries that set some of the most popular operas within the context of their composer's career, outline the plot, discuss the music, and more.

The Book Lovers' Companion

What to Read Next

Author: Various Authors

Publisher: Michael O'Mara Books

ISBN: 1782433643

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 334

View: 4486

With so many fantastic books out there, it can often be difficult to choose what to read next. Thankfully, The Book Lovers' Companion - an updated and revised version of The Book Club Bible - is here to help: bringing together a huge range of the best and most loved titles in one comprehensive guide. Featuring a diverse selection of books to choose from, from Pride and Prejudice to the modern classics as well as the latest bestsellers, this guide includes interesting discussion points and facts that will be indispensable for book lovers as well as potential companion books with similar themes, honest opinions from readers and razor-sharp reviews from critics, so you'll know you're making the right choice every time. Compiled by a range of English literature experts and avid readers, and with a foreword by Lionel Shriver, author of We Need To Talk About Kevin, The Book Lovers' Companion is sure to inspire any book lover. You need never read a bad book again!

The Great American Read: The Book of Books

Explore America's 100 Best-Loved Novels

Author: PBS

Publisher: Black Dog & Leventhal

ISBN: 0316417548

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 288

View: 7821

A blockbuster illustrated book that captures what Americans love to read, The Great American Read: The Book of Books is the gorgeously-produced companion book to PBS's ambitious summer 2018 series. What are America's best-loved novels? PBS will launch The Great American Read series with a 2-hour special in May 2018 revealing America's 100 best-loved novels, determined by a rigorous national survey. Subsequent episodes will air in September and October. Celebrities and everyday Americans will champion their favorite novel and in the finale in late October, America's #1 best-loved novel will be revealed. The Great American Read: The Book of Books will present all 100 novels with fascinating information about each book, author profiles, a snapshot of the novel's social relevance, film or television adaptations, other books and writings by the author, and little-known facts. Also included are themed articles about banned books, the most influential book illustrators, reading recommendations, the best first-lines in literature, and more. Beautifully designed with rare images of the original manuscripts, first-edition covers, rejection letters, and other ephemera, The Great American Read: The Book of Books is a must-have book for all booklovers.

A Book Lover's Diary

Author: Shelagh Wallace,Scott McKowen

Publisher: Willowdale : Firefly Books

ISBN: 9781552090152

Category: Antiques & Collectibles

Page: 144

View: 7126

"I never travel without my diary. One should always have something sensational to read in the train." -- Oscar Wilde A Book Lover's Diary is a journal for noting personal discoveries from the books read and recording the books on a wish list. A Book Lover's Diary is a welcome companion during forays to libraries and bookstores when the titles of books wanted can vanish from memory. Well-organized and practical, this book features separate sections for: Books to read Books read and a personal review Books to buy Books loaned out or borrowed Favorite books Memorable passages Addresses of libraries and book stores Beautifully detailed woodcuts illustrate the pages and quotations describe the joy of books and reading. By keeping track of the books read and noting their effect, this journal becomes a valuable personal history.

The Ballet Lover's Companion

Author: Zoe Anderson

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN: 0300154291

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 360

View: 572

This engaging book is a welcome guide to the most successful and loved ballets seen on the stage today. Dance writer and critic Zoe Anderson focuses on 140 ballets, a core international repertory that encompasses works from the ethereal world of romantic ballet to the edgy, muscular works of modern choreographers. She provides a wealth of facts and insights, including information familiar only to dance world insiders, and considers such recent works as Alexei Ramansky's Shostakovich Trilogy and Christopher Wheeldon's The Winter's Tale as well as older ballets once forgotten but now returned to the repertory, such as Sylvia. To enhance enjoyment of each ballet, Anderson also offers tips on what to look for during a performance. Each chapter introduces a period of ballet history and provides an overview of innovations and advancement in the art form. In the individual entries that follow, Anderson includes essential facts about each ballet’s themes, plot, composers, choreographers, dance style, and music. The author also addresses the circumstances of each ballet’s creation and its effect in the theater, and she recounts anecdotes that illuminate performance history and reception. Reliable, accessible, and fully up to date, this book will delight anyone who attends the ballet, participates in ballet, or simply loves ballet and wants to know much more about it.

Double Fault

A Novel

Author: Lionel Shriver,Barrington Saddler LLC

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 0061915890

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 7515

Tennis has been Willy Novinsky's one love ever since she first picked up a racquet at the age of four. A middle-ranked pro at twenty-three, she's met her match in Eric Oberdorf, a low-ranked, untested Princeton grad who also intends to make his mark on the international tennis circuit. Eric becomes Willy's first passion off the court, and eventually they marry. But while wedded life begins well, full-tilt competition soon puts a strain on their relationship—and an unexpected accident sends driven and gifted Willy sliding irrevocably toward resentment, tragedy, and despair. From acclaimed author Lionel Shriver comes a brilliant and unflinching novel about the devastating cost of prizing achievement over love.

What I Read-My Book Reading Journal

Author: Terry Kepner

Publisher: Flying Chipmunk Publishing

ISBN: 9781617201202

Category: Self-Help

Page: 128

View: 6018

The "What I Read- My Book Reading Journal" is ideal for jotting down thoughts and keeping track of all the books you've read and the ones you can't wait to start. Reread your summaries from previous books in a series to bring yourself up to speed on the characters and situations prior to launching into the latest release from one of your favorite authors. * * * * The perfect portable companion, this 6"x9" (152x229mm) stylish journal is small and light enough to carry with you. Part journal and part wish list, this journal will help you keep track of your books with: Title, Author, Genre/Series, Characters, Plot, My Reaction/Favorite Quote/Best Scene, and a five star rating system on every page and in the table of contents. * * * * Check out the other books published by Flying Chipmunk Publishing at www.FlyingChipmunkPublishing.com, or Friend us on Facebook for our latest Children's, Juvenile, and Adult releases.

Book Lust

Recommended Reading for Every Mood, Moment, and Reason

Author: Nancy Pearl

Publisher: Sasquatch Books

ISBN: 1570616590

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 304

View: 8807

What to read next is every book lover's greatest dilemma. Nancy Pearl comes to the rescue with this wide-ranging and fun guide to the best reading new and old. Pearl, who inspired legions of litterateurs with "What If All (name the city) Read the Same Book," has devised reading lists that cater to every mood, occasion, and personality. These annotated lists cover such topics as mother-daughter relationships, science for nonscientists, mysteries of all stripes, African-American fiction from a female point of view, must-reads for kids, books on bicycling, "chick-lit," and many more. Pearl's enthusiasm and taste shine throughout.

The New Wine Lover's Companion

Author: Ron Herbst,Sharon Tyler Herbst

Publisher: Barron's snippet

ISBN: 9780764142659

Category: Cooking

Page: 698

View: 5628

Updated with newly flourishing wine-growing regions, enhanced coverage of wine-producing practices and winemaking terms, a revised edition offers about 4,000 entries on grape varieties, wine styles and winemaking techniques and includes tips on buying and storing wine, appendices, a glossary, charts and more. Original.

The End of Mr. Y

Author: Scarlett Thomas

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN: 9780547539232

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 3872

A cursed book. A missing professor. Some nefarious men in gray suits. And a dreamworld called the Troposphere? Ariel Manto has a fascination with nineteenth-century scientists—especially Thomas Lumas and The End of Mr. Y, a book no one alive has read. When she mysteriously uncovers a copy at a used bookstore, Ariel is launched into an adventure of science and faith, consciousness and death, space and time, and everything in between. Seeking answers, Ariel follows in Mr. Y’s footsteps: She swallows a tincture, stares into a black dot, and is transported into the Troposphere—a wonderland where she can travel through time and space using the thoughts of others. There she begins to understand all the mysteries surrounding the book, herself, and the universe. Or is it all just a hallucination? With The End of Mr. Y, Scarlett Thomas brings us another fast-paced mix of popular culture, love, mystery, and irresistible philosophical adventure.

100 One-Night Reads

A Book Lover's Guide

Author: David C. Major,John S. Major

Publisher: Ballantine Books

ISBN: 0307480895

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 336

View: 7802

Readers everywhere know that nothing soothes the spirit like sinking into a really good book. If you're one of that happy band, you'll quickly recognize the authors of this inspired reading guide as kindred spirits. Here David and John Major have chosen one hundred books that can each be delightfully consumed in one quiet evening. Covering categories from fantasy to fiction, history to humor, mystery to memoir, this addictive volume features books to match all your moods—by both celebrated writers and gifted unknowns, including: • Russell Baker • Willa Cather • Raymond Chandler • F. Scott Fitzgerald • Graham Greene • Edith Hamilton • Dashiell Hammett • Helene Hanff • Ernest Hemingway • Patricia Highsmith • Shirley Jackson • Henry James • W. Somerset Maugham • Mary McCarthy • Walter Mosley • Vladimir Nabokov • Patrick O'Brian • Barbara Pym • Phillip Roth • Vikram Seth • Isaac Bashevis Singer • C. P. Snow • Dylan Thomas • Evelyn Waugh • Edith Wharton • Laura Ingalls Wilder • Virginia Woolf Each selection contains an entertaining discussion of what makes the book special, from an adventurous writing style to a unique sense of humor. The Majors also share insights about the authors and literary anecdotes, as well as recommend other gems on a similar subject or by the same author. A literary companion to relish and refer to again and again, 100 One-Night Reads is a masterpiece in its own right! From the Trade Paperback edition.

We Need to Talk About Kevin

Author: Lionel Shriver

Publisher: Counterpoint Press

ISBN: 9781582438870

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 9373

That neither nature nor nurture bears exclusive responsibility for a child's character is self-evident. But generalizations about genes are likely to provide cold comfort if it's your own child who just opened fire on his feellow algebra students and whose class photograph—with its unseemly grin—is shown on the evening news coast-to-coast. If the question of who's to blame for teenage atrocity intrigues news-watching voyeurs, it tortures our narrator, Eva Khatchadourian. Two years before the opening of the novel, her son, Kevin, murdered seven of his fellow high school students, a cafeteria worker, and the much-beloved teacher who had tried to befriend him. Because his sixteenth birthday arrived two days after the killings, he received a lenient sentence and is currently in a prison for young offenders in upstate New York. In relating the story of Kevin's upbringing, Eva addresses her estranged husband, Frank, through a series of startingly direct letters. Fearing that her own shortcomings may have shaped what her son became, she confesses to a deep, long-standing ambivalence about both motherhood in general—and Kevin in particular. How much is her fault? We Need To Talk About Kevin offers no at explanations for why so many white, well-to-do adolescents—whether in Pearl, Paducah, Springfield, or Littleton—have gone nihilistically off the rails while growing up in the most prosperous country in history. Instead, Lionel Shriver tells a compelling, absorbing, and resonant story with an explosive, haunting ending. She considers motherhood, marriage, family, career—while framing these horrifying tableaus of teenage carnage as metaphors for the larger tragedy of a country where everything works, nobody starves, and anything can be bought but a sense of purpose.

The Horse

The Epic History of Our Noble Companion

Author: Wendy Williams

Publisher: Scientific American / Farrar, Straus and Giroux

ISBN: 0374709777

Category: Nature

Page: 320

View: 448

A New York Times Bestseller and New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice A Best Book of 2015, The Wall Street Journal "Love is the driver for Wendy Williams's new book, The Horse . . . [an] affectionate, thoroughgoing, good-hearted book." —Jaimy Gordon, The New York Times Book Review "Charming and deeply interesting . . . Ms. Williams does a marvelous job." —Pat Shipman, The Wall Street Journal The book horse-lovers have been waiting for Horses have a story to tell, one of resilience, sociability, and intelligence, and of partnership with human beings. In The Horse, the journalist and equestrienne Wendy Williams brings that story brilliantly to life. Williams chronicles the 56-million-year journey of horses as she visits with experts around the world, exploring what our biological affinities and differences can tell us about the bond between horses and humans, and what our longtime companion might think and feel. Indeed, recent scientific breakthroughs regarding the social and cognitive capacities of the horse and its ability to adapt to changing ecosystems indicate that this animal is a major evolutionary triumph. Williams charts the course that leads to our modern Equus-from the protohorse to the Dutch Warmbloods, Thoroughbreds, and cow ponies of the twenty-first century. She observes magnificent ancient cave art in France and Spain that signals a deep respect and admiration for horses well before they were domesticated; visits the mountains of Wyoming with experts in equine behavior to understand the dynamics of free-roaming mustangs; witnesses the fluid gracefulness of the famous Lipizzans of Vienna; contemplates what life is like for the sure-footed, mustachioed Garrano horses who thrive on the rugged terrain of Galicia; meets a family devoted to rehabilitating abandoned mustangs on their New Hampshire farm; celebrates the Takhi horses of Mongolia; and more. She blends profound scientific insights with remarkable stories to create a unique biography of the horse as a sentient being with a fascinating past and a finely nuanced mind. The Horse is a revealing account of the animal who has been at our side through the ages, befriending us and traveling with us over the mountains and across the plains. Enriched by Williams's own experience with horses, The Horse is a masterful work of narrative nonfiction that pays tribute to this treasure of the natural world.

How to Read a Book

Author: Mortimer J. Adler,Charles Van Doren

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781439144831

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 426

View: 9963

With half a million copies in print, How to Read a Book is the best and most successful guide to reading comprehension for the general reader, completely rewritten and updated with new material. Originally published in 1940, this book is a rare phenomenon, a living classic that introduces and elucidates the various levels of reading and how to achieve them—from elementary reading, through systematic skimming and inspectional reading, to speed reading. Readers will learn when and how to “judge a book by its cover,” and also how to X-ray it, read critically, and extract the author’s message from the text. Also included is instruction in the different techniques that work best for reading particular genres, such as practical books, imaginative literature, plays, poetry, history, science and mathematics, philosophy and social science works. Finally, the authors offer a recommended reading list and supply reading tests you can use measure your own progress in reading skills, comprehension, and speed.

Bellwether

Author: Connie Willis

Publisher: Spectra

ISBN: 0307571947

Category: Fiction

Page: 256

View: 8308

Pop culture, chaos theory and matters of the heart collide in this unique novella from the Hugo and Nebula winning author of Doomsday Book. Sandra Foster studies fads and their meanings for the HiTek corporation. Bennet O'Reilly works with monkey group behavior and chaos theory for the same company. When the two are thrust together due to a misdelivered package and a run of seemingly bad luck, they find a joint project in a flock of sheep. But a series of setbacks and disappointments arise before they are able to find answers to their questions. From the Paperback edition.