The Chronicles of Articia; Children of the Dead

Author: K. D. Enos,Edward Enos

Publisher: eBookIt.com

ISBN: 1456615696

Category: Fiction

Page: 324

View: 1704

Pursued by a great evil, the children of the king are on the run. Along the way, they find pain, fear, longing, and loss; they discover surprising truths about themselves; and the youngest of the royal children learns a great secret about her own fantastic power She has the power to destroy the world!

Another Day in the Death of America

A Chronicle of Ten Short Lives

Author: Gary Younge

Publisher: Nation Books

ISBN: 156858976X

Category: Social Science

Page: 304

View: 7224

Winner of the 2017 J. Anthony Lukas PrizeShortlisted for the 2017 Hurston/Wright Foundation AwardFinalist for the 2017 Helen Bernstein Book Award for Excellence in JournalismLonglisted for the 2017 Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Non Fiction On an average day in America, seven children and teens will be shot dead. In Another Day in the Death of America, award-winning journalist Gary Younge tells the stories of the lives lost during one such day. It could have been any day, but he chose November 23, 2013. Black, white, and Latino, aged nine to nineteen, they fell at sleepovers, on street corners, in stairwells, and on their own doorsteps. From the rural Midwest to the barrios of Texas, the narrative crisscrosses the country over a period of twenty-four hours to reveal the full human stories behind the gun-violence statistics and the brief mentions in local papers of lives lost. This powerful and moving work puts a human face-a child's face-on the "collateral damage" of gun deaths across the country. This is not a book about gun control, but about what happens in a country where it does not exist. What emerges in these pages is a searing and urgent portrait of youth, family, and firearms in America today.

I, Judas

A Novel

Author: James Reich

Publisher: Soft Skull Press

ISBN: 1593764219

Category: Fiction

Page: 224

View: 2592

A fictionalized account of the life of Judas Iscariot blends Biblical scenes with nineteenth and twentieth century events and historical allusions to such figures as John the Baptist, Sylvia Plath, and Bob Dylan.

The Last Battle Adult CD

The Last Battle Adult CD

Author: C. S. Lewis

Publisher: HarperFestival

ISBN: 9780060793326

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 5737

In the never-ending war between good and evil, The Chronicles of Narnia set the stage for battles of epic proportions. Some take place in vast fields, where the forces of light and darkness clash. But other battles occur within the small chambers of the heart and are equally decisive. Journeys to the ends of the world, fantastic creatures, betrayals, heroic deeds, and friendships won and lost -- all come together in an unforgettable world of magic. So join the battle to end all battles. Performed by Patrick Stewart Enhanced CD: Put this CD in your computer to view a gallery of Pauline Baynes' classic color illustrations, and access Narnia weblinks.

Doubtful Plays

Being All the Dramas Attributed to the Muse of the World's Great Poet

Author: Henry Tyrrell

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: 484

View: 5149

Dread Brass Shadows

A Garrett, P.I. Novel

Author: Glen Cook

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101494328

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 399

A treasure trove of sorcery is hidden somewhere in the city of TunFaire, and everyone wants to find it—a prize so rich it makes even a hard-boiled detective like Garrett nervous, especially when his beautiful red-haired girlfriend is attacked because of it. Garrett's thirst for revenge is quenched when two other redheads turn up at his front door—and he finds himself the center of unwelcome attention from every thug and would-be sorcerer in town. Now, Garrett has to find what everyone is after—the legendary Book of Shadows, made of brass and holding secrets no mortal was ever meant to master—and make sure no one ever has the chance to work its spells on his unsuspecting and unprotected world.

Athena

Author: Teri Temple

Publisher: Gods and Goddesses of Ancient

ISBN: 9781489646392

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 32

View: 1643

Introduces the Greek goddess Athena and explains her importance; features well-known Greek myths about this god; and includes map of ancient Greece and family tree of the Greek gods.

The Barrow

Author: Mark Smylie

Publisher: Prometheus Books

ISBN: 1616148926

Category: Fiction

Page: 607

View: 4266

Action, horror, politics, and sensuality combine in this DEBUT EPIC FANTASY novel for fans of George R. R. Martin and Michael J. Sullivan, set in the world of the Eisner Award-nominated Artesia comic books. To find the Sword, unearth the Barrow. To unearth the Barrow, follow the Map. When a small crew of scoundrels, would-be heroes, deviants, and ruffians discover a map that they believe will lead them to a fabled sword buried in the barrow of a long-dead wizard, they think they've struck it rich. But their hopes are dashed when the map turns out to be cursed and then is destroyed in a magical ritual. The loss of the map leaves them dreaming of what might have been, until they rediscover the map in a most unusual and unexpected place. Stjepan Black-Heart, suspected murderer and renegade royal cartographer; Erim, a young woman masquerading as a man; Gilgwyr, brothel owner extraordinaire; Leigh, an exiled magus under an ignominious cloud; Godewyn Red-Hand, mercenary and troublemaker; Arduin Orwain, scion of a noble family brought low by scandal; and Arduin's sister Annwyn, the beautiful cause of that scandal: together they form a cross section of the Middle Kingdoms of the Known World, united by accident and dark design, on a quest that will either get them all in the history books...or get them all killed. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Ante's Inferno

Author: Griselda Heppel

Publisher: Troubador Publishing Ltd

ISBN: 1780882408

Category: Children's stories

Page: 208

View: 1360

Twelve year-old Ante (Antonia) Alganesh has a problem. It’s lunchbreak and Florence’s gang are after her. Desperate for a place to hide, she climbs the forbidden staircase to the old organ loft, where a hundred years ago a boy tumbled to his death. No one will think of looking for her there... Except Florence. Petrified, Ante watches her enemy approach, leaning on the rotten hand-rail. She shouts a warning, but it’s too late. There’s a crash – and a boy appears from nowhere, just as a door opens in the wall behind them. All three find themselves in a tunnel leading to a river bank where people queue to be rowed across by a filthy old ferryman…Forced to bury their differences, Ante and Florence accompany the strange boy, Gil, on a journey he should have taken 100 years ago through the Underworld. Making their way past the Shopping Maul and Multivice Complex, attacked by Cerberus, Harpies, Furies and the Minotaur, all this is bad enough: far worse is the doubt gnawing at Ante’s heart...Ante’s Inferno is a gripping combination of fantasy, Greek mythology and adventure, for children aged 9-12 years old. Author Griselda is inspired by C. S. Lewis and Norton Juster’s The Phantom Tollbooth. Ante's Inferno won the Children's award in the People's Book Prize 2013, and the Silver award in the 9-12 year-old category of the Wishing Shelf Independent Book Awards 2012.

Hera

Author: Teri Temple

Publisher: Gods and Goddesses of Ancient

ISBN: 9781489646477

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 32

View: 3060

Introduces the responsibilities and characteristics of Hera,the goddess of the gods, as well as providing a mythological family tree of the Greek gods.

Hermes

Author: Teri Temple

Publisher: Gods and Goddesses of Ancient

ISBN: 9781489646491

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 32

View: 4645

Introduces the responsibilities and characteristics of Hermes, the god of travels and trade, as well as providing a mythological family tree of the Greek gods.

Hephaestus

Author: Teri Temple

Publisher: Gods and Goddesses of Ancient

ISBN: 9781489646453

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: N.A

View: 6276

This book introduces the Greek god Hephaestus and explains his importance in mythology.

Escapology

Author: Ren Warom

Publisher: Titan Books (US, CA)

ISBN: 1785650920

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 7742

Shock Pao is the best. In the virtual world the Slip there’s nothing he can’t steal for the right price. Outside the Slip, though, he’s a Fail – no degree, no job. So when his ex offers him a job, breaking into a corporate databank, he accepts—it’s either that, or find himself a nice bench to sleep under. Amiga works for psychotic crime lord Twist Calhoun so when Shock’s war comes to her, it’s her job to bring him to Twist, dead or alive.

Homeland

Author: Cory Doctorow

Publisher: Tor Teen

ISBN: 1466805870

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 400

View: 7624

In Cory Doctorow's wildly successful Little Brother, young Marcus Yallow was arbitrarily detained and brutalized by the government in the wake of a terrorist attack on San Francisco—an experience that led him to become a leader of the whole movement of technologically clued-in teenagers, fighting back against the tyrannical security state. A few years later, California's economy collapses, but Marcus's hacktivist past lands him a job as webmaster for a crusading politician who promises reform. Soon his former nemesis Masha emerges from the political underground to gift him with a thumbdrive containing a Wikileaks-style cable-dump of hard evidence of corporate and governmental perfidy. It's incendiary stuff—and if Masha goes missing, Marcus is supposed to release it to the world. Then Marcus sees Masha being kidnapped by the same government agents who detained and tortured Marcus years earlier. Marcus can leak the archive Masha gave him—but he can't admit to being the leaker, because that will cost his employer the election. He's surrounded by friends who remember what he did a few years ago and regard him as a hacker hero. He can't even attend a demonstration without being dragged onstage and handed a mike. He's not at all sure that just dumping the archive onto the Internet, before he's gone through its millions of words, is the right thing to do. Meanwhile, people are beginning to shadow him, people who look like they're used to inflicting pain until they get the answers they want. Fast-moving, passionate, and as current as next week, Homeland is every bit the equal of Little Brother—a paean to activism, to courage, to the drive to make the world a better place. At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.