The Red Ribbon

Author: Lucy Adlington

Publisher: Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.

ISBN: 1471406296

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 320

View: 3292

Rose, Ella, Marta and Carla. In another life we might all have been friends together. But this was Birchwood. For readers of The Diary of Anne Frank and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas. As fourteen-year-old Ella begins her first day at work she steps into a world of silks, seams, scissors, pins, hems and trimmings. She is a dressmaker, but this is no ordinary sewing workshop. Hers are no ordinary clients. Ella has joined the seamstresses of Birkenau-Auschwitz, as readers may recognise it. Every dress she makes could mean the difference between life and death. And this place is all about survival. Ella seeks refuge from this reality, and from haunting memories, in her work and in the world of fashion and fabrics. She is faced with painful decisions about how far she is prepared to go to survive. Is her love of clothes and creativity nothing more than collaboration with her captors, or is it a means of staying alive? Will she fight for herself alone, or will she trust the importance of an ever-deepening friendship with Rose? One thing weaves through the colours of couture gowns and camp mud - a red ribbon, given to Ella as a symbol of hope.

Gen-Tattoo

Author: Lucy J. Adlington

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783551375902

Category:

Page: 191

View: 7170

The Girl with the Red Ribbon

Author: Linda Finlay

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 1405918985

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 6441

Is the legacy of her mother's love enough to survive alone? At just eight years old, Rowan is devastated when her mother dies. And when years later her father remarries a scheming woman who makes it clear she doesn't see Rowan as part of her new family, she finds herself facing a desolate future at the local asylum. Yet Rowan refuses to give up hope. With her mother's cherished red ribbon tied around her wrist, she draws on the strength of her spirit to plot a daring escape to a nearby town. It is here that Rowan finds work as an apprentice to a bonnet and dressmaker, discovering a natural talent for colour and detail that brings success beyond her wildest dreams. But the greatest reward of all is the blossoming of a romance. But Rowan's past still casts a shadow over her happiness. Torn between her new life and the family she longs for, will she ever find a place to call home? The Author As an image consultant, Linda has always had an avid interest in people. Linda's writing has been published in a number of magazines and annuals. Moving to the spectacular Devon coast and learning about its local history inspired her novels set in the area.

The Red Ribbon

An Irregular Spy Thriller (The Irregular Book 2)

Author: H.B. Lyle

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1473655463

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 4683

The thrilling follow up to The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy, featuring Wiggins - an ex-soldier who was trained as a child by Sherlock Holmes. Praise for The Irregular 'H.B. Lyle has found the golden thread between Bond and Holmes' Giles Foden, author of The Last King of Scotland 'Impressive period detail and sharp dialogue add charm to the strong plot' Daily Mail 'A thrilling story of espionage, murder and the creation of the Secret Service' Charles Cumming, author of A Colder War Captain Vernon Kell's fledgling secret intelligence service faces being shut down before it has even begun its job of saving the Empire from German and Russian spies. Harassed by politicians, like the ambitious Winston Churchill, bullied by Special Branch, undermined by his colleague Cumming's ill-advised foreign ventures and alarmed at his wife's involvement with militant suffragettes, Kell is making no progress in tracking high-profile leaks from the government. To make matter worse, his only agent, Wiggins, would rather be working on cases of his own. Wiggins grew up on the streets, one of the urchins trained in surveillance by Sherlock Holmes and known as the Baker Street Irregulars. He has promised to avenge the death of his best friend, and to track down a missing girl. But when his search takes him towards a club in Belgravia - a club containing a lot of young women and presided over by the fearsome Big T, one of his former gang-mates - Wiggins is drawn into a conspiracy that will test both his personal and his professional resolve. A satisfying, standalone sequel to The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy, H.B. Lyle's brilliantly entertaining spy story is also a superb evocation of London in 1910, from the finest drawing rooms to the meanest streets.

The red ribbon cookbook

Author: Susan B. Langhorne,Bill Murphy

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780963875501

Category: Cooking

Page: 92

View: 9915

The Red Ribbon

A Story of Friendship

Author: Kristine Lombardi

Publisher: Readers Digest

ISBN: 9780794404017

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 14

View: 9440

A real red ribbon winds its way through the pages as Sam and Sara's friendship is tested when they argue over which of them will use it. On board pages.

Under the Red Ribbon

Thirty Years of the Victorian AIDS Council / Gay Men's Health Centre

Author: Fiona Poulton,Lucy Bracey,Katherine Sheedy

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780646905037

Category: AIDS (Disease)

Page: 128

View: 4557

Thirty Years of the Victorian AIDS Council / Gay Men’s Health Centre

The Devil and the Red Ribbon

Author: Theo Rion

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1682992217

Category: Fiction

Page: 208

View: 8110

A Simon & Schuster eBook. Simon & Schuster has a great book for every reader.

The Red Ribbon

A Memoir

Author: Nancy Freund Bills

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781631525735

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 216

View: 1633

In the summer of 1994, a lightning accident on the coast of Maine leaves Nancy Bills's husband dead and her younger son critically hurt. In this inspiring memoir, Bills captures the shock and grief that follow this unusual and devastating loss, and shares how she and her sons find the strength to recover from it.

Under the Red Ribbon

Author: Karolyn Miller

Publisher: CreateSpace

ISBN: 9781492720836

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 4768

UNDER THE RED RIBBON is a novel of a young woman, her family, her deepest desires, and the people who shaped her life. Lucille Kramer comes of age during the Great Depression in a small Iowa town. As valedictorian of her high school class, Lucille has big dreams, but like so many people during that time in our country's history she is forced to put many of her dreams on hold. Although UNDER THE RED RIBBON takes place in the early part of the twentieth century, it deals with many contemporary topics, such as infertility, homosexuality, and racial prejudice, specifically against Native Americans. This novel with its authentic characters, offers insight into our own lives. It connects us to the most profound forms of love found in friendships, family relationships and romantic intimacies. Long after reading the book, recalling the names of Nick, Lucille, Dan and Bill will hold special significance and once again we will relive their story and fall in love.

The Tale of the Red Ribbon

Author: Audrey Munsch

Publisher: Strategic Book Publishing

ISBN: 9781618970268

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 16

View: 8232

Gabby and Sal are best friends, but a problem arises between them when they find a beautiful red ribbon. How will they solve their problem and still remain friends?

Born Scared

Author: Kevin Brooks

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783423740296

Category:

Page: 237

View: 4447

Kannst du deine Angst besiegen? Elliot hat Angst - vor allem im Leben. Das Einzige, was seine Angst in Schach hält, sind seine Medikamente. Und dann, eines Morgens, sind sie aufgebraucht und alles geht schief: Die ganze Stadt wird von einem Schneesturm lahmgelegt, und Elliots Mutter, die nur kurz zu ihrer Schwester wollte, kommt und kommt nicht wieder. Nicht weit entfernt, wird Elliots Tante Opfer eines Raubüberfalls, und als Elliots Mutter an der Haustür auftaucht, wird auch sie von den Tätern gefesselt und geknebelt. Als seine Mutter nicht auftaucht, bleibt ihm nichts anderes übrig: Er muss nach draußen, in den Schneesturm, um seine Mutter zu suchen. Und gerät selbst in die Fänge der Gangster ... Kevin Brooks' neuestes Meisterstück: ein Psychothriller, der einen voll innerer Spannung schier zerreißt, ein temporeicher Sprint

Dragon Ball, Vol. 5

The Red Ribbon Army

Author: Akira Toriyama

Publisher: VIZ Media LLC

ISBN: 1421545799

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page: 188

View: 5312

In the final round of the "Strongest under the Heavens" martial arts competition, it's down to Goku vs. Jackie Chun, the mysterious old man who's as powerful as Kame-Sen'nin himself! Will the audience survive the confrontation? After the smoke clears, Goku jumps on his flying cloud and returns to his quest to find the seven Dragon Balls, but now he's not the only one looking for them. The evil Red Ribbon Army wants the Dragon Balls for themselves, and to stop their plans, Goku must go around the world--and survive the six deadly floors of Colonel White's fortress, Muscle Tower! -- VIZ Media

Rahab, Or, "Dare to Do Right"

A Sermon on "The Red Ribbon," February 18th, 1877

Author: George Duffield

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Bible

Page: 14

View: 6836

Dragon Ball Z, Vol. 13

The Red Ribbon Androids

Author: Akira Toriyama

Publisher: VIZ Media LLC

ISBN: 1421545330

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page: 195

View: 5869

Three years ago, the time traveler Trunks came from the future to warn Earth's heroes about terrifying androids. Now, the future has become the present: Dr. Gero has unleashed his creations, Androids #19 and #20, to get revenge against Goku for defeating the Red Ribbon Army! But even three years of advance warning may not be enough to prepare the heroes to face robots more powerful than Super Saiyans! And when Trunks returns to join in the fight, they discover that time travel can be dangerous...because sometimes the future changes in ways you don't expect... -- VIZ Media