The Workhouse Waif

An uplifting romance perfect for summer reading

Author: Lynette Rees

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1787472884

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 5520

Destined to a life of poverty, this little girl has bigger plans in life... After the death of her father in a mining accident, Megan and her family had no choice but to move to the local workhouse. Separated from her mother and five siblings, young Megan must learn how to stand on her own two feet. But one day she meets a young boy who's stealing apples from the local market and together, they set out on a path to find a better life for themselves... A heartwarming saga, perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Katie Flynn and Nadine Dorries Please note: this edition contains editorial revisions Readers love Lynette's uplifting sagas! 'Lynette Rees deserves to be up there amongst the best historical romance writers of this decade!' 'Readers who like Dilly Court and Nadine Dorries should give Lynette Rees a try' 'It's the best read I have had in a long time' 'What a lovely, moving book, and what a dear, sweet child Megan is!' Also coming soon from Lynette Rees: The Matchgirl A Daughter's Promise The Cobbler's Wife

A Daughter's Promise

A gritty saga from the bestselling author of The Workhouse Waif

Author: Lynette Rees

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1787472906

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 9605

A heartwarming saga, from the ebook bestselling author of The Workhouse Waif. Eighteen-year-old seamstress Kathryn Flynn lives in Whitechapel, London, struggling to support her widowed mother and younger siblings. But when her work starts drying up and her mother falls ill, she is forced to consider desperate measures . . . Then she meets 'Squire', an older city gentleman, who falls instantly in love with her and offers to take her under his wing. 'Squire' could give Kathryn the life she's always wanted . . . but is there something darker lurking beneath his kindness? What readers are saying about Lynette Rees: 'The best read I have had in a long time' Amazon reviewer ***** 'Another brilliant read from this amazing author' Amazon reviewer ***** 'Absolutely enthralled ... Would highly recommend for anyone that enjoys a good drama' Amazon reviewer ***** 'A beautiful story that I couldn't put down' Amazon reviewer *****

Fabbles: 1

Author: Hal Duncan

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 129164329X

Category: Fiction

Page: 86

View: 6325

Meet the Scruffians, workhouse tykes and street arabs scrobbled by the Waiftaker General, dragged to the Institute and put to the Stamp that writes your very soul into your skin. Meet the waifs of Ripper Vicky's Empire, Fixed forever as they are, never ageing, never starving, ever bouncing back to exactly how they were Fixed... the perfect child labour. Now escaped from their chimney sweep and mill owner masters, hiding out in their rookery cribs, surviving as thieves and beggars... and fighting back. Meet Flashjack the hellion and Puckerscruff the urchin; Squirlet Nicely and Vermintrude Toerag; Yapper, the Scruffian who learned to speak Dog; Whelp, the dog Fixed as a Scruffian; and Rake Jake Scallion, not a Scruffian, but the finest friend any scruff ever had. Meet Gobfabbler, the fabbler of this here crib, with his fabbles of Christmas spirit, canine spifflication, and why, only the most important fabble of em all... the fabble of how the Scruffians took the Stamp!

Temple Bar

A London Magazine for Town and Country Readers

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 7265

Temple Bar

Author: George Augustus Sala,Edmund Hodgson Yates

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: English periodicals

Page: N.A

View: 5275

Jules Verne: The Extraordinary Voyages Collection

Author: Jules Verne

Publisher: Book House Publishing

ISBN: 8826011184

Category: Literary Collections

Page: N.A

View: 1683

This book, newly updated, contains now several HTML tables of contents that will make reading a real pleasure! The first table of contents (at the very beginning of the ebook) lists the titles of all novels included in this volume. By clicking on one of those titles you will be redirected to the beginning of that work, where you'll find a new TOC that lists all the chapters and sub-chapters of that specific work. Here you will find the largest collection of Verne’s "Extraordinary Voyages" available in English (47 novels). This book includes a rare novel that appear for the first time in digital print: "The Chase of the Golden Meteor". The novels are in the chronological order of their original publication. - Five Weeks in a Balloon - The Adventures of Captain Hatteras - Journey to the Center of the Earth - From the Earth to the Moon - In Search of the Castaways - Twenty Thousand Leagues under the Sea - Around The Moon - A Floating City - The Adventures of Three Englishmen and Three Russians in South Africa - The Fur Country - Around the World in Eighty Days - The Mysterious Island - The Survivors of the Chancellor - Michael Strogoff - Hector Servadac - The Underground City - Dick Sand, A Captain at Fifteen - The Five Hundred Millions of the Begum - Tribulations of a Chinaman in China - The Steam House - Eight Hundred Leagues on the Amazon - Godfrey Morgan - The Green Ray - Kéraban the Inflexible - The Star of the South - The Archipelago on Fire - Mathias Sandorf - The Lottery Ticket - Robur the Conqueror - North Against South - The Flight to France - Two Years' Vacation - Family Without a Name - The Purchase of the North Pole - Caesar Cascabel - Mistress Branican - The Castle of the Carpathians - Claudius Bombarnac - Foundling Mick - Captain Antifer - Floating Island - Facing the Flag - Clovis Dardentor - An Antarctic Mystery - The Will of an Eccentric - The Master of the World - The Chase of the Golden Meteor

Masterplots

1,801 plot stories and critical evaluations of the world's finest literature

Author: Dayton Kohler

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780893560843

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 7382

View: 1624

Masterplots was the first book published by Salem Press in 1949 and is the original work of literary reference offering plot summaries. From a collection of 500 plot summaries of world-famous novels, plays, poems and works of non-fiction, Masterplots has grown to cover plot synopses, critical commentary, character profiles, literary settings and biographical profiles in more than 12,000 reference articles. Masterplots articles are designed to be efficient reference sources, providing available facts about a work at a glance. Each article opens with ready-reference information: Type of work, author, first publication date, and English translation date where applicable. Narrative works also receive type of plot, time of plot, locale, and principal characters.

Zohrah

A Story of the Sahara : and Other Tales

Author: Isabel Don

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: 281

View: 3431

The Matchgirl

Will this factory girl have her happy ending?

Author: Lynette Rees

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1787472892

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 401

A heartwarming saga, from the ebook bestselling author of THE WORKHOUSE WAIF Sixteen-year-old Lottie Perkins has an important decision to make... Conditions at the match factory she works at are dire. The girls get treated badly by the management and there is a severe risk to their health. But then a young journalist, Annie Besant, begins asking questions. Will Lottie and the other girls welcome her help, even when it could cost them their jobs - and their livelihoods...? Please note: this edition contains editorial revisions

Masterplots

Fifteen Hundred and Ten Plot-stories and Essay-reviews from the World's Fine Literature

Author: Frank Northen Magill

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Literature

Page: N.A

View: 6385

Masterplots; combined edition

fifteen hundred and ten plot-stories and essay-reviews from the world's fine literature

Author: Frank Northen Magill,Dayton Kohler

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Literature

Page: 3529

View: 7078

The Gypsy Girl

Author: Val Wood

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1409057100

Category: Fiction

Page: 544

View: 1220

When Polly Anna's mother died when she was just three years old, it seemed the workhouse was the only place for her to go. But with the help of Jonty - a young misfit who soon became her best friend - she managed to escape, running away with the fairground folk. Her friends became the circus people, and her home the caravans and travellers' tents. Meanwhile, in a great house in Yorkshire, old Mrs Winthrop has never given up hope of finding her daughter Madeleine, who eloped with a handsome gypsy and was never seen again. When her young neighbour sets out to find Madeleine, he discovers the colourful world of the fairs. And there, in the midst of it all, Polly Anna - once the waif from the workhouse, now a fully-fledged gypsy girl. If you enjoy books by Katie Flynn and Dilly Court, you'll love Val's heartwarming stories of triumph over adversity. Previously published as The Romany Girl.

Froggie

The Lost Waif

Author: Maria F. Davis,Josephine Reyna de Barrios

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 0595313418

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 184

View: 1826

The French find a tot and print the story. A British detective claims the boy as coming from Switzerland but belonging to a British subject. Swiss agents deny it. A major cover-up by the British ensues. This boy is put away for the world to forget. He survives under brutality, detailing how boys are circumcised without anesthesia or the cure for crying in the dormitories or the treatment for toothaches or the punishment for talking and so many other cruel, inhumane remedies. When WWI breaks out the orphans go to fight. Froggie spends years at sea. Post WWI England is an incredible disenchantment with unemployment, poor wages, poor health care and the Influenza epidemic that crosses the oceans to America. Fate intervenes when he jumps ship to later meet "gentle" Josie, a would-be nun. She is his mentor in becoming a citizen, calling upon Ellis Island, FBI and others to discover his real identity with all the ugly truths. They uncover secrets he and the world are not supposed to know. Their courageous quest will inspire readers to realize that hope is a priceless commodity worth the effort.

Parliamentary Papers

1909-1982

Author: Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Great Britain

Page: N.A

View: 4787

Reports and Minutes of Evidence

Author: Great Britain. Royal Commission on the Poor Laws and Relief of Distress,Lord George Francis Hamilton,Andrew C Kay,H Toynbee,Arthur Herbert Drummond Ramsay Steel-Maitland,Mary Longman,Rose Elizabeth Squire,Constance Williams,Thomas Jones,Ethel Mary Nucella Williams,Cyril Jackson,John Christian Pringle,G Harlock,C Parsons,Marion Phillips,Norah B Roberts

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Poor laws

Page: N.A

View: 452

Silas Marner

Author: George Eliot

Publisher: Nelson Thornes

ISBN: 9780174325529

Category:

Page: 75

View: 1168

A dramatised version of George Eliot's "Silas Marner"