The Workhouse Waif

An uplifting romance perfect for summer reading

Author: Lynette Rees

Publisher: Quercus Publishing

ISBN: 1787472884

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 2229

Destined to a life of poverty, this little girl has bigger plans in life... After the death of her father in a mining accident, Megan and her family had no choice but to move to the local workhouse. Separated from her mother and five siblings, young Megan must learn how to stand on her own two feet. But one day she meets a young boy who's stealing apples from the local market and together, they set out on a path to find a better life for themselves... A heartwarming saga, perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Katie Flynn and Nadine Dorries Please note: this edition contains editorial revisions Readers love Lynette's uplifting sagas! 'Lynette Rees deserves to be up there amongst the best historical romance writers of this decade!' 'Readers who like Dilly Court and Nadine Dorries should give Lynette Rees a try' 'It's the best read I have had in a long time' 'What a lovely, moving book, and what a dear, sweet child Megan is!' Also coming soon from Lynette Rees: The Matchgirl A Daughter's Promise The Cobbler's Wife

The Cobbler's Wife

A gritty saga from the bestselling author of The Workhouse Waif

Author: Lynette Rees

Publisher: Quercus Publishing

ISBN: 1787472914

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 8865

How far will she go for happiness? For years Seren James has yearned for a child of her own. Married to a man who has little care for her, she longs for something to fill the emptiness within - and fears that she is almost out of time. When Seren meets a woman who says she can help, she thinks her dreams have come true. But the locals suspect Anwen of witchcraft, and any association with her may taint Seren too. And as Seren finds herself growing closer to Elwyn Davies, the local minister, who has made no secret of his attraction to her, she must ask herself what it will take to find happiness - and whether she is willing to pay the price . . . What readers are saying about Lynette Rees: 'The best read I have had in a long time' Amazon reviewer ***** 'Another brilliant read from this amazing author' Amazon reviewer ***** 'Absolutely enthralled ... Would highly recommend for anyone that enjoys a good drama' Amazon reviewer ***** 'A beautiful story that I couldn't put down' Amazon reviewer *****

Fabbles: 1

Author: Hal Duncan

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 129164329X

Category: Fiction

Page: 86

View: 9338

Meet the Scruffians, workhouse tykes and street arabs scrobbled by the Waiftaker General, dragged to the Institute and put to the Stamp that writes your very soul into your skin. Meet the waifs of Ripper Vicky's Empire, Fixed forever as they are, never ageing, never starving, ever bouncing back to exactly how they were Fixed... the perfect child labour. Now escaped from their chimney sweep and mill owner masters, hiding out in their rookery cribs, surviving as thieves and beggars... and fighting back. Meet Flashjack the hellion and Puckerscruff the urchin; Squirlet Nicely and Vermintrude Toerag; Yapper, the Scruffian who learned to speak Dog; Whelp, the dog Fixed as a Scruffian; and Rake Jake Scallion, not a Scruffian, but the finest friend any scruff ever had. Meet Gobfabbler, the fabbler of this here crib, with his fabbles of Christmas spirit, canine spifflication, and why, only the most important fabble of em all... the fabble of how the Scruffians took the Stamp!

Zohrah

A Story of the Sahara : and Other Tales

Author: Isabel Don

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: 281

View: 6173

The Matchgirl

Will this factory girl have her happy ending?

Author: Lynette Rees

Publisher: Quercus Publishing

ISBN: 1787472892

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 1501

A heartwarming saga, from the ebook bestselling author of THE WORKHOUSE WAIF Sixteen-year-old Lottie Perkins has an important decision to make... Conditions at the match factory she works at are dire. The girls get treated badly by the management and there is a severe risk to their health. But then a young journalist, Annie Besant, begins asking questions. Will Lottie and the other girls welcome her help, even when it could cost them their jobs - and their livelihoods...? Please note: this edition contains editorial revisions

Jules Verne: The Extraordinary Voyages Collection

Author: Jules Verne

Publisher: Book House Publishing

ISBN: 8826011184

Category: Literary Collections

Page: N.A

View: 408

This book, newly updated, contains now several HTML tables of contents that will make reading a real pleasure! The first table of contents (at the very beginning of the ebook) lists the titles of all novels included in this volume. By clicking on one of those titles you will be redirected to the beginning of that work, where you'll find a new TOC that lists all the chapters and sub-chapters of that specific work. Here you will find the largest collection of Verne’s "Extraordinary Voyages" available in English (47 novels). This book includes a rare novel that appear for the first time in digital print: "The Chase of the Golden Meteor". The novels are in the chronological order of their original publication. - Five Weeks in a Balloon - The Adventures of Captain Hatteras - Journey to the Center of the Earth - From the Earth to the Moon - In Search of the Castaways - Twenty Thousand Leagues under the Sea - Around The Moon - A Floating City - The Adventures of Three Englishmen and Three Russians in South Africa - The Fur Country - Around the World in Eighty Days - The Mysterious Island - The Survivors of the Chancellor - Michael Strogoff - Hector Servadac - The Underground City - Dick Sand, A Captain at Fifteen - The Five Hundred Millions of the Begum - Tribulations of a Chinaman in China - The Steam House - Eight Hundred Leagues on the Amazon - Godfrey Morgan - The Green Ray - Kéraban the Inflexible - The Star of the South - The Archipelago on Fire - Mathias Sandorf - The Lottery Ticket - Robur the Conqueror - North Against South - The Flight to France - Two Years' Vacation - Family Without a Name - The Purchase of the North Pole - Caesar Cascabel - Mistress Branican - The Castle of the Carpathians - Claudius Bombarnac - Foundling Mick - Captain Antifer - Floating Island - Facing the Flag - Clovis Dardentor - An Antarctic Mystery - The Will of an Eccentric - The Master of the World - The Chase of the Golden Meteor

Truth

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 9821

Neither Waif Nor Stray

The Search for a Stolen Identity

Author: Perry Allan Snow

Publisher: Universal-Publishers

ISBN: 9781581127584

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 284

View: 6500

The author's father, Frederick George Snow (1909-1994), became a ward of the Church of England Society for Providing Homes for Waifs and Strays when he was four years old in 1913. He was sent from England to Canada as one of the "Home Children" when he was fifteen. This book contains the author's search for his father's identity and family in England as well as information on the British child emigration system between 1880 and 1930.

Temple Bar

A London Magazine for Town and Country Readers

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 6635

Temple Bar

Author: George Augustus Sala,Edmund Hodgson Yates

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: English periodicals

Page: N.A

View: 314

The Workhouse Girl

Author: Dilly Court

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1446456218

Category: Fiction

Page: 496

View: 3184

Circumstances force eight-year-old Sarah and her widowed mother to enter the notorious St Giles and St George’s Workhouse. When her mother dies in childbirth, the independent-minded Sarah falls foul of the workhouse master, Trigg and his cruel wife. Sarah’s ordeal seems to be over when a sugar mill owner takes her into his home. But her wealthy benefactor reports Trigg and his wife. And blaming Sarah for their misfortune, in a fit of revenge, the couple decide to take the law into their own hands.

The Gypsy Girl

Author: Val Wood

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1409057100

Category: Fiction

Page: 544

View: 7454

When Polly Anna's mother died when she was just three years old, it seemed the workhouse was the only place for her to go. But with the help of Jonty - a young misfit who soon became her best friend - she managed to escape, running away with the fairground folk. Her friends became the circus people, and her home the caravans and travellers' tents. Meanwhile, in a great house in Yorkshire, old Mrs Winthrop has never given up hope of finding her daughter Madeleine, who eloped with a handsome gypsy and was never seen again. When her young neighbour sets out to find Madeleine, he discovers the colourful world of the fairs. And there, in the midst of it all, Polly Anna - once the waif from the workhouse, now a fully-fledged gypsy girl. If you enjoy books by Katie Flynn and Dilly Court, you'll love Val's heartwarming stories of triumph over adversity. Previously published as The Romany Girl.

The Romany Girl

Author: Val Wood

Publisher: CCV Digital

ISBN: 9781409057116

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 5287

The Workhouse Children

A heartwarming saga

Author: Lindsey Hutchinson

Publisher: Head of Zeus Ltd

ISBN: 1786692511

Category: Fiction

Page: 328

View: 462

Tears and tribulations, laughs and heartbreak, from an exciting new talent. Perfect for the fans of Jo Cox and Lyn Andrews. When Cara Flowers' beloved grandmother dies she leaves her not only an enormous fortune but also a huge responsibility – to find their estranged family. Cara's quest leads her to the doors of the imposing Bilston workhouse where families are torn apart with no hope of a better life. Shocked by the appalling conditions, Cara vows to find a way to close the workhouse and rescue its residents. Fraught by countless hurdles her mission becomes personal when she is left asking why was she raised by her grandmother, and what has her missing mother got to do with the looming workhouse? What people are saying about THE WORKHOUSE CHILDREN: 'A truly beautiful read, well done to the author for giving me such enjoyment' 'A very poignant, feel good novel' 'I laughed, cried and gasped, such a gripping story line' 'What an amazing story start to finish'

The Singing Winds

Author: Elizabeth Gill

Publisher: Quercus

ISBN: 1623655110

Category: Fiction

Page: 553

View: 2331

A stark, emotive saga about love and loss in the North of England at the turn of the 20th century. On her father's death, Kate Ferrar is expected to move from London to a mining village in County Durham, to live with an uncle she barely knows. Restricted by the confines of polite society and hungry for education and honest company, she breaks all social rules by taking a job in her uncle's office. There she meets Jon Armstrong, a pit lad, tough, enigmatic and not at all the sort of man Kate should be consorting with. He's also engaged to a local girl Lizzie, while Kate's uncle is plotting a suitable marriage for her. But a sudden and shocking mining disaster almost destroys everything. Both Kate and Lizzie must draw on all their courage to survive, but their delicate position in the village threatens to collapse as disastrously as the mine on which their lives depend.

Fire in the Heart

Author: Katherine Sutcliffe

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780380755790

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 3392

The handsome but moody Lord Damien Warwick reluctantly takes in a beautiful refugee from a British work house, but their hearts are plagued with conflict as their desire for each other becomes overwhelming