Climategate

A Veteran Meteorologist Exposes the Global Warming Scam

Author: Brian Sussman

Publisher: Wnd Books

ISBN: N.A

Category: Science

Page: 224

View: 3367

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Traces the origins of the climate scare, guiding the reader from the minds of Marx and Engles in the 1800s, to the global governance of the United Nations.

Storm Warning

ater and Climate Security in a Changing World

Author: Robert William Sandford

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 1771601450

Category: Nature

Page: N.A

View: 4520

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Climate Change from a Criminological Perspective

Author: Rob White

Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media

ISBN: 1461436400

Category: Social Science

Page: 232

View: 6660

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Few would dispute the power of climate change to lead to profoundly destructive weather events. At the same time, the possibility of climate change as a consequence—or even a cause—of criminal events is far less recognized. As the earth grows warmer, issues regarding land use, water rights, bio-security, and food production and distribution will continue to have far-reaching impact, and produce more opportunity for offenses by individuals and groups as well as political and corporate entities. In Climate Change from a Criminological Perspective, a panel of pioneering green criminologists investigates an increasingly complex chain of ecological causes and effects. Illegal acts are analyzed as they contribute to environmental decline (e.g., wildlife poaching) or result from ecological distress (e.g., survival-related theft). Regulatory and other interventions are critiqued, concepts of environmental harm refined, and new research methodologies called for. And while individual events described are mainly local, the contributors keep the global picture, and substantial questions about human rights and social relationships, firmly in mind. Topics featured include: Global warming as corporate crime. Climate change and the courts: U.S. and global views. Climate change, natural disasters, and gender inequality. The roles and responsibilities of environmental enforcement networks. A sociocultural perspective on climate change denial. PLUS: instructive in-depth chapters on criminological aspects of Hurricane Katrina and the Japanese nuclear disaster. A volume of considerable timeliness and vision, Climate Change from a Criminological Perspective will be read and discussed, and will inspire action, by researchers in criminology, criminal justice, environmental studies, and related disciplines, as well as policymakers.

Global Climate Change

A Primer

Author: Orrin H. Pilkey Jr.,Keith C. Pilkey,Mary Edna Fraser

Publisher: Duke University Press

ISBN: 0822351099

Category: Science

Page: 142

View: 5590

DOWNLOAD NOW »

An internationally recognized expert on the geology of barrier islands takes on climate change deniers in an outstanding and much-needed primer on the science of global change and its effects.

America Goes Green

An Encyclopedia of Eco-friendly Culture in the United States

Author: Kim Kennedy White

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN: 1598846574

Category: Nature

Page: 1297

View: 2632

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Explores the history and evolution of environmentalism in modern America, featuring essays that look at environmental issues facing each state, primary source documents, and thematic A to Z entries.

Soul, Self, and Society

The New Morality and the Modern State

Author: Edward L. Rubin

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 0199348677

Category: Political Science

Page: 336

View: 6449

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Political and social commentators regularly bemoan the decline of morality in the modern world. They claim that the norms and values that held society together in the past are rapidly eroding, to be replaced by permissiveness and empty hedonism. But as Edward Rubin demonstrates in this powerful account of moral transformations, these prophets of doom are missing the point. Morality is not diminishing; instead, a new morality, centered on an ethos of human self-fulfillment, is arising to replace the old one. As Rubin explains, changes in morality have gone hand in hand with changes in the prevailing mode of governance throughout the course of Western history. During the Early Middle Ages, a moral system based on honor gradually developed. In a dangerous world where state power was declining, people relied on bonds of personal loyalty that were secured by generosity to their followers and violence against their enemies. That moral order, exemplified in the early feudal system and in sagas like The Song of Roland, The Song of the Cid, and the Arthurian legends has faded, but its remnants exist today in criminal organizations like the Mafia and in the rap music of the urban ghettos. When state power began to revive in the High Middle Ages through the efforts of the European monarchies, and Christianity became more institutionally effective and more spiritually intense, a new morality emerged. Described by Rubin as the morality of higher purposes, it demanded that people devote their personal efforts to achieving salvation and their social efforts to serving the emerging nation-states. It insisted on social hierarchy, confined women to subordinate roles, restricted sex to procreation, centered child-rearing on moral inculcation, and countenanced slavery and the marriage of pre-teenage girls to older men. Our modern era, which began in the late 18th century, has seen the gradual erosion of this morality of higher purposes and the rise of a new morality of self-fulfillment, one that encourages individuals to pursue the most meaningful and rewarding life-path. Far from being permissive or a moral abdication, it demands that people respect each other's choices, that sex be mutually enjoyable, that public positions be allocated according to merit, and that society provide all its members with their minimum needs so that they have the opportunity to fulfill themselves. Where people once served the state, the state now functions to serve the people. The clash between this ascending morality and the declining morality of higher purposes is the primary driver of contemporary political and cultural conflict. A sweeping, big-idea book in the vein of Francis Fukuyama's The End of History, Charles Taylor's The Secular Age, and Richard Sennett's The Fall of Public Man, Edward Rubin's new volume promises to reshape our understanding of morality, its relationship to government, and its role in shaping the emerging world of High Modernity.

Eco-Tyranny

How the Left's Green Agenda Will Dismantle America

Author: Brian Sussman

Publisher: Wnd Books

ISBN: 9781936488506

Category: Political Science

Page: 315

View: 7769

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Looks at the environmental movement and how it is undermining America's superpower status.