Crossroads in Time (The After Cilmeri Series Book 3)

Author: Sarah Woodbury

Publisher: The Morgan-Stanwood Publishing Group

ISBN: 1476325529

Category: Fiction

Page: 350

View: 398

Three years have passed since the events chronicled in Prince of Time … Anna has made a place for herself in thirteenth century Wales as a wife, mother, and healer. David has taken more of the kingdom’s rule on his shoulders, even as his relationship with Lili has caused friction with his father, King Llywelyn. The King wants his son to seek a political marriage that will benefit his country—and possibly place the crown of England on David’s head. England and Wales have shared a border and an uneasy peace for three long years. And that peace is about to be broken …

Crossroads: Book Three of the Shepherd Chronicles

Author: Gary Friedman

Publisher: Lulu Press, Inc

ISBN: 1483482308

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 9084

David Hynes is torn between continuing on the path created for him by a mysterious messenger or supporting a grieving family and starting a life with his beloved, Peggy. After deciding to move forward on his journey, David strikes out once again to bring his message to those that have lost their way. With his flock growing, David finds his way from national politics and battles with terrorists to rescuing an elderly man from a fate that does not belong to him. Along his path, he discovers the greater depth of his mission and a new mentor to guide his way. His mysterious messenger takes on a new form as David begins to define his future. Through it all, David proves that one man can make a difference not just for himself, but for every life he touches, while encouraging all of us to do the same. In the conclusion to the Shepherd Chronicles trilogy, one man continues an inspirational quest to take the focus off himself and make a difference. Please visit the author’s web site

Test Drive

Author: Riley Hart

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

ISBN: 9781533339614

Category:

Page: 236

View: 9240

A double shot of devastating news turns Justin Evanson's life upside down. When he learns his father has cancer, and he has siblings he never knew existed, he leaves everything behind and moves to Virginia to support his dad as he tries to make amends with his family-a family Justin's not sure he has a place in. Things go from bad to worse when he discovers his recent hookup is his newfound sister's brother-in-law. Drew Sinclair never expected to see Justin after their night at the club or to discover their family connection. If anyone found out, it would give Drew's brother another reason to hate him. But there's something about Justin that draws him in, and it's not only because they burn up the sheets together. One meeting leads to another, and before Justin realizes it, Drew has become the only thing in his world he feels is his. And for the first time in his life, Drew knows what it means to be needed. Being there for Justin and supporting him when things spiral out of control feels right. But with so much happening so quickly, it's hard to trust their feelings. Is this thing between them real? Or just a test drive before life forces them down two separate roads?

Skinner's Trail (Bob Skinner series, Book 3)

A gritty Edinburgh mystery of crime and murder

Author: Quintin Jardine

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755353552

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 9980

A gangland killing sets Edinburgh's police chief on a deadly quest... Skinner is on the trail of organised crime and a cold-blooded killer in Skinner's Trail, the gripping third novel in Quintin Jardine's bestselling crime series. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and James Oswald. 'Engrossing, believable characters... captures Edinburgh beautifully... It all adds up to a very good read' - Edinburgh Evening News First the joyous birth of Skinner's son... then the grim reality of murder in one of Edinburgh's prosperous suburbs. A man has been found knifed in a luxury villa. The victim had run a chain of laundrettes, saunas and pubs throughout the city, but for some time the police suspected these to be the front for a drug distribution network. As the murder investigation continues without result, it seems the killer was particularly cunning in covering his tracks - leaving no clues or leads to pursue. But then another seemingly minor crime - involving property fraud - takes Assistant Chief Constable Bob Skinner in a new direction. Moving from Scotland to northern Spain, then back to a chilling climax in Edinburgh, this complex and suspenseful thriller follows a tortuous and bloodsoaked trail involving vice, corruption and the merchants of death... What readers are saying about Skinner's Trail: 'All Quintin Jardine's books are a must read, you are hooked from the very first page. I can't get enough of them!' 'I rate Quintin Jardine among the finest crime writers ever' 'Five stars'

Crossing The Line

The GEG Series book #3

Author: Jacquelyn Ayres

Publisher: Jacquelyn Ayres

ISBN: 0986306940

Category: Fiction

Page: 350

View: 9187

To the Brink (The Expedition trilogy, Book 3)

True Story of the First Human-Powered Circumnavigation of the Earth

Author: Jason Lewis

Publisher: BillyFish Books LLC

ISBN: 0984915559

Category: Travel

Page: 434

View: 8705

“An Epic.”—THE GUARDIAN We rejoin The Expedition for its third and final instalment with Jason, now seasoned adventurer, and April, American schoolteacher at sea for the first time, battling to keep their pedal-powered boat Moksha from being dashed against Australia’s Great Barrier Reef. Crossing the infamous Coral Sea, they’ve endured gale force winds, rogue waves, and powerful currents pushing them off course for days at a time. On her thirtieth consecutive day of seasickness and now haemorrhaging blood, April is in urgent need of medical treatment. But in the uncharted waters north of Cape Flattery, far from coastguard assistance, there is little if any hope of rescue. Even if they survive, Jason faces untold hazards to complete the first circumnavigation of the planet using only human power: waterless deserts, towering mountain ranges, seaborne pirates, and extremist hotspots. And there is still the overarching question he posed at the beginning, the one driving him forward that will take him to the brink for an answer. “A mind-boggling odyssey beyond the stretch of the average imagination.”—ASSOCIATED PRESS “Lewis writes with gritty realism and unexpected humour, and the result is both horrifying and enormously inspiring.”—NEW TIMES “We see a man who is – as Mowgli put it in The Jungle Book – prepared to pull the whiskers of death.”—LONDON TIMES “Arguably, the most remarkable adventurer in the world today. Many people would certainly go insane if they weren’t killed first.”—THE DAILY MAIL “I believe it is important in our era of cars, trains and aeroplanes that we are reminded what human beings can achieve using their own strength and resources.”—HIS HOLINESS THE DALAI LAMA “Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance meets Bill Bryson’s A Walk in the Woods. A thoroughly entertaining and insightful read.”—CHARLIE BOORMAN, Long Way Down “An extraordinary adventure.”—THE INDEPENDENT “An enthralling read.”—OUTDOOR PHOTOGRAPHY

Spirit Gate

Book One of Crossroads

Author: Kate Elliott

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 074812103X

Category: Fiction

Page: 640

View: 4246

For hundreds of years the Guardians ruled the Hundred, but these unearthly beings have faded from human sight and no longer exert their will on the world. Only the reeves, patrolling from the skies, still represent the Guardians' power. But there is a corruption in the land that not even they can control, and fanatics are devastating villages, towns, and cities, slaughtering all who oppose them. Outlanders Anji and Mai are fleeing their homeland with a company of dedicated warriors. On reaching the Hundred, they form an alliance with Reeve Joss, and determine to stand against the devouring horde. But, as region after region slips into chaos, a young woman sworn to the Goddess may be all that keeps them from annihilation . . . A haunting tale of individuals swept up by the chaos of war, this is fantasy adventure at its best - rich in texture, filled with colour and excitement.

The Family Gathering

Author: Robyn Carr

Publisher: MIRA

ISBN: 1488023557

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 5853

Look for Robyn’s new book, The Best of Us, a story about family, second chances and choosing to live your best life—order your copy today! An exceptional storyteller, #1 New York Times bestselling author Robyn Carr beautifully captures the emotionally charged, complex dynamics that come with being part of any family. Readers will laugh and shed a few tears as they discover what it means to be loved, supported and accepted by the people who mean the most. Having left the military, Dakota Jones is at a crossroads in his life. With his elder brother and youngest sister happily settled in Sullivan’s Crossing, he shows up hoping to clear his head before moving on to his next adventure. But, like every visitor to the Crossing, he’s immediately drawn to the down-to-earth people and the seemingly simple way of life. Dakota is unprepared for how quickly things get complicated. As a newcomer, he is on everyone’s radar—especially the single women in town. While he enjoys the attention at first, he’s really only attracted to the one woman who isn’t interested. And spending quality time with his siblings is eye-opening. As he gets to know them, he also gets to know himself and what he truly wants. When all the Jones siblings gather for a family wedding, the four adults are drawn together for the first time in a way they never were as children. As they struggle to accept each other, warts and all, the true nature and strength of their bond is tested. But all of them come to realize that your family are the people who see you for who you really are and love you anyway. And for Dakota, that truth allows him to find the home and family he’s always wanted.

The Athenaeum

Journal of Literature, Science and the Fine Arts

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 3853

Crossroads and Cultures, Volume C: Since 1750

A History of the World's Peoples

Author: Bonnie G. Smith,Marc Van De Mieroop,Richard von Glahn,Kris Lane

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN: 0312571682

Category: History

Page: 368

View: 4009

Crossroads and Cultures: A History of the World’s Peoples incorporates the best current cultural history into a fresh and original narrative that connects global patterns of development with life on the ground. As the title, “Crossroads,” suggests, this new synthesis highlights the places and times where people exchanged goods and commodities, shared innovations and ideas, waged war and spread disease, and in doing so joined their lives to the broad sweep of global history. Students benefit from a strong pedagogical design, abundant maps and images, and special features that heighten the narrative’s attention to the lives and voices of the world’s peoples. Test drive a chapter today. Find out how.